DIY. Heart with flowers and butterfly/dragonfly.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Today I am going to show you that you can create an amazing heart decoration for your home with just 5 items and some time! Creating your own decorations will not only brighten up your rooms but will also give you a proud feeling every time you look at them. So lets get started!


First make sure you will have the time and space set up where you are going to craft! I always prefer some soft music on the background and a huge mug of coffee at reach!

Need: *  A heart made of styrofoam.
           * Knitting wool in the color you like.
           * Little flowers with a flowerstalk made from iron wire. I used two different flowers.
           * A butterfly/dragonfly either with Iron wire as well or like mine with a small clip.

Start by cutting some of the wool in pieces ( not too short) and start to wrap it around the heart. Don't worry if the wool does not cover the  styrofoam  up all the way. You will go around and around the heart with the wool till you think its done. I prefer to use shorter pieces of wool instead of the whole ball because it's easier to pull it through the middle of the heart. At the start I made a knot to make sure my wool stays put and every time I my wool was done I knotted the new wool to the old to continue.


I went around twice with my wool and as you can see there are little bits of the styrofoam visible. Don't worry too much about that because at a later stage you can move the wool a bit here and there to cover it all. 

Putting on the flowers is easy! Hold the flower in one hand and lift the wool on the heart a little bit with your other hand. Push the iron wire of the flower under the wool and pull it out on the other side. Make sure the flower is on the spot you want and take the iron wire and wrap it a few times around the flower. Cut of the rest of the iron wire right now or like I did at the end. I choose to put the bigger flowers ( Pink roses) In the middle and the other flowers around it to create some contrast! When you have all the flowers at place you do the same with the butterfly or dragonfly. Lift the wool, push the iron wire under it and pull. Wrap the wire around the butterfly or dragonfly and cut of the rest. Mine is attached with a clip. For a clip you also lift the wool and put your butterfly or dragonfly at place.

And there you go! A wonderful heart to decorate your room with! Or hand it at your door ( Only if it will stay dry. You cant use these things outside. They will fall apart in time.) I used the same wool to make a big loop/knot in the middle of the heart to hang it on the wall. 


If you enjoyed watching my artwork, the tutorials I share, want to ask me something or want advice, want to give me some advice, feel free to leave a reply and I will get back to you as soon as possible. If you create something from your heart inspired by my tutorials it would be great to see the end result in the replies.

Don't forget to push the follow button! Replies are really appreciated.

Happy crafting! 
@Poeticsnake   

Sort:  

Another great crafting idea! I don't know if I'd have the patience for using yarn. I would probably cheat and use wide ribbon. LOL
Oh! Halloween is coming - how about a spooky alternative to flowers and dragonflies?

Ribbon will look great! Plus it will really go faster :D I already saw some amazing crafting materials in the shops for Halloween so I might make something!

Isn't it a dragonfly ? I thought butterflies have only one set of wings. While dragonflies have two sets. Well, anyways, awesome art. I'll surely try to make one myself now.. :)

You know, you might be right! The package they came in said butterflies but now that you said it I am starting to think that you are right!

yup it's definitely a dragonfly, butterflies don't have tails like that. It's still a beautiful project though.

Thank you so much! And yes, it's dragonfly! Silly me. Lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59895.89
ETH 2419.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44