You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Simple watercolor training - process

in #art7 years ago

@marty-arts - just wondering with your artworks and tutorial whether you normally start with a picture or image that you have seen and if so it would be good if you could include that as part of the process? I struggle to picture things in my head when I sketch and I am still working out how to deconstruct the shapes and proportions from the reference image so it helps to see how you go about this process. Love your work as always :)

Sort:  

I am really bad at painting and drawing according to my imagination.. I need some photo or image in front of me, then I can easily work... this flower was according to a painting by Natalia Kadantseva.. here is the original ... but in other cases I use photos.. like the animal paintings.. I still learn and Im still unhapy about some results, because I don achieve what I want.. as you wrote, deconstruction is the problem.. thats why I imitate artworks sometimes.. and thank you :)

2017-08-29 (3).png

Sorry, I really wanted to do a side-by-side comparison of the two different paintings (I hope you don't mind but I haven't used it anywhere else except to make this comment - but maybe something you want to do in the future with your post?)...

I do this with my sketches to see if I have captured the form or likeness of the original artists, and where I have both intentionally and unintentionally changed details. This has already helped with my calligraphy practice as well, as an exercise in both getting the big picture and the fine details right.

Do you find that you have to step back every now and then as well to keep the proportions, colours and shadows in sync as well?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68394.30
ETH 2644.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69