Apple in the water - Graphite and color

in #art6 years ago

I was recently watching some slow motion videos of objects falling into the water. It is something that can really hypnotize you, and inspired me to do the drawing that I will show you in this post. I knew that the most difficult part of this drawing would be to draw the water at the moment the object was entering, but I dared to try it, and this was the result.


Apple in the water


base.jpg


Licencia Creative Commons
This work is licensed under a Licencia Creative Commons Atribución-CompartirIgual 4.0 Internacional


When I weighed what object would be the most appropriate to draw, the vivid red of the apples came to my mind, which, as you can see in the drawing, gives a beautiful touch of color to the finish.


Used materials


photo_2018-06-22_15-11-13.jpg


-Paper.
-Pencil.
-Draft.
-Colors (red and brown)


Process



1.1.jpg


With the first drops, I could begin to practice the reflections and shadows of water, which is the most difficult when drawing liquid. The most appropriate thing is to take into account the position of the light, and to darken the edges of the drops.


2.jpg


I continued to shade the water on the left side, using light and dark highlights to highlight the waves of the moving water. To draw water waves, it is necessary to understand the location of the shadows, to use a dark path and then blur it.


3.jpg


I finished adding the shadows of the water in movement, leaving blank spaces to achieve a transparency effect. I also left other spaces in the central area, to fill them with red color after coloring the apple.


4.jpg


To color the apple, I started with the branch using the brown color, I gave darkness to the edges of the branch, and left a central area with a light color, to achieve an effect of depth. Then, with graphite, I added a dark trace at the base of the apple branch, and started using the color red. I gave intensity to the red color in the areas of the shadows, and according to the perspective of the light, I kept some clear spaces, to achieve an effect of realism.


9.jpg


Then, to achieve greater realism in the coloring of the apple, I used the color brown to accentuate the shadows, and get a good depth.


IMG_20180622_122944.jpg


Finally, I used brown and red tones in the water area, using an irregular pattern, and blurring the edges to achieve the effect of distortion of the color of the apple through the water, and thus obtain the final result.


base.jpg


I hope you liked this drawing. I feel satisfied to have achieved this difficult challenge of drawing water. You can leave your opinion, criticism or suggestion, I will be happy to read and respond. You can support me with your vote if you wish.


Thank you

BANNER.jpg

Sort:  

Hi pluridimensional,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Beautiful work, I wish I could use color like that! I'm okay with graphite but the moment I try to add color with any medium it all goes to hell XD

Thanks for comment. Yes, using color can become a headache. I recommend you to divide the coloring process into sections. That was what allowed me to color the apple. I had never been able to color well, but when I started doing it by sections, I could do it at last.

That's a good tip, I'll keep that in mind

Wow, I understand why so many people vote, if your work is incredibly excellent, felicades, I like your level of professionalism and excellence, still publishing works like this.

Thank you. It's a pleasure to receive comments like this. Greetings.

Genial!!!👏👏👏 🎨
Felicitaciones por el voto de @curie, muy bien merecido!
Si te gustaría participar en un concurso de arte, pásate por mi blog ;)

Gracias amigo. Me hizo feliz recibir ese apoyo de Curie. Gracias por la invitación al concurso. Entraré.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97