You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Art and Who Defines It?

in #art6 years ago

I think art is the manifestation of unique creative expression in some form. It could be something as simple as the particular way someone talks with their particular lilt and enunciation and language that communicates in such a way as to open another to unforeseen possibilities. Building something or doing math can be art I think. The definition does not lie in a particular medium but rather in the singular expression of the creator. It feels Real. It is interesting and beautiful or at least sublime. It is what I think Plato was attempting to articulate when he mused on the Real and Forms and the Shadowland. In my language Plato was trying to express his Groove. I think what we are calling Art requires a way to communicate that Groove at some meaningful level to be art. The impulse to create and express I think is basic life force stuff. The ability to express and communicate ones particular groove to the point that it can be engaged by others and impacted is what for me is art. So perhaps the "art" part exists in the communication, the creative expression of one consciousness with another. This would be true even if something I've done from the depths of me communicates who I am to my ego. Peace friend.

Sort:  

Terrific point about how anything can be an “art” if the medium is applied creatively! It all comes down to intention, practice, and imaginative self-expression that leads us to better understanding the world and our place in it! Thank you so much for stopping by! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72