[Sketchbook Page 1] + [Sandy Cat, Arble!]

in #art7 years ago


Ah... A brand new sketchbook! Opening up to the first page is always so nice.

Ever since my first sketchbook, I like to try to make the first picture kinda fancy or cool!

So right away I knew I wanted to have a cool pose with the character's hand stroking their hair back. But first I had to make sure the rest of the pose was right, because I wanted them to be at a sort of subtle angle. Not really noticable here, but ey.

It took me forever to figure out how to position the arm just right. A game of subtle foreshortening! I actually had to take a picture of myself as a reference... But I don't know that I'mma post it anywhere, though! :'P

Anyway, I also decided I would make the character Arble cuz that's just my go-to character to draw when I dunno who to draw LOL. Also widened out the upper body and shoulders both for better perspective and to help Arble with his manry looks LOL~

Also, one of the ears is tucked under the hand... Caught up in the hair-brushing movements.

I added the hair and started working on the facial features. I had the other hand hooked into one of the belt rings by the thumb to help compliment the "casually cool" pose Arble likes to rock! (≧▽≦)

Fixing up the facial features! I really enjoy the sort of shapes I use for the irises... I don't even know what to call that shape, but it's just really asthetically pleasing imho.

I'm still deciding on what I want to put in the background. I know that I want to have this neat sort of effect where there's only a strip of the background to be seen, so I added some guidelines so I could add them in easy enough when I made a decicion.

I'll be honest, if I'm going with my gut I kinda wanna put palm trees and beach scenery in the strip, but that wouldn't make a whole lot of sense since Arble doesn't live on a beach, isn't dressed for the beach, and has no particular affinity for the beach.

Then again, I've posted drawings of a dog with a scythe tail hanging out with a Santa girl and two characters from totally different universes taking a nap together, so clearly my drawings don't really gotta follow a logical method LOL.

Anyway, class starts soon, so I should get going. Stay tuned to see how this piece turns out! ☆ ~('▽^人)


Want to see more of my stuff? Check out my [Masterpost]!
Check me out on [deviantART] and [Tumblr], too!


Sort:  

That's amazing, wish I could draw like that!

similarly :)

Thank you!
Though it's not just some natural talent... With practice, hard work, and patience, anybody can learn to draw! :')

Thanks! I'm glad you like it! ^_^)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76