Through Time – Step by step of my drawing process, from sketch to finished artwork

in #art8 years ago (edited)

The largest animal ever known to have existed on Earth – The Blue Whale. These enormous creatures are ranging in length from 24-30 m and can weigh up to 200 tonnes.



This is the third drawing in my series, where I portray endangered species. 
Blue Whales are red listed as endangered, meaning they're likely to become extinct.


The sketch

The swallow symbolizes freedom and hope, that's why I decided to draw one next to the magnificent, endangered, whale.

I lined the drawing with warm gray and sepia multiliners. The paper I used was Arches Hot Press Watercolor Paper. It is one of my favorite papers, even though it wrecks both my wallet and Copics (expensive paper that sucks up a lot of ink, and wears out the marker nibs quicker than non-watercolor paper). 


The coloring process

First I picked out my colors – blue, blue violet and orange. Then, I started working on the Swallow, using blue violets in different tones and shades.


I want to start using more colors in my pictures, so I decided on coloring the butterflies bright orange.


Then, I started working on the Blue Whale. I used a deep blue, gorgeous color.


When the animals were done, I added highlights using white gel pen and a tiny bit of white color pencil.


The drawing looked a bit unfinished, so I decided to add a galaxy themed background.


The finished drawing

Some final details were added with white gel pen.


Timelapse


Postface

If you want to know more about me, check out my:


Sort:  

Actually, this is my favourite version! :D

Absolutely, beautiful!

I cannot believe how good this is.

Upvoted to high hell.

p.s - I knew it. Front page. Well done. :P

Thank you :) Haha, I was sooo in doubt on whether or not to add a background. I like the plain version as well, but I prefer the one with background luckily. There's no erasing when working with markers. Cool to know which one you liked the most :)

The most common mistake an artist makes (apparently), is to add more (I am guilty), when it is already done. But of course, 'done' is subjective, luckily, in this case, I can still see your other version. No undo button? :P

My favourite part is your shading/highlights and the bird and the everything.

How can you draw so good? Are you human ?

Haha, I wish that I could say no. It would have been cool being some kind of intergalactic being or something like that. And thank you, I started a little over a year ago, and has been practicing A LOT during that time :)

Love your stuff! such clean linework, beautiful purples, and stars!

Thanks a lot :D

Thank you ^^

Wow, the shading makes it amazing or rather more amazing. Love it

Thank you :D

What blows me away about your work is the way you can create the illusion of volume with markers SO skillfully! Stunning work, @pixielolz.

Thank you so much. I saw your comment when I woke up today, and it put a huge smile on my face :D Thank you for your help on the steemit chat as well, it means a lot :)

You're welcome! ;)

good shape.

nice art. your cool make.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69081.21
ETH 3809.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50