Mew meets Steemit (speed drawing video + photos)

in #art8 years ago

Mythical pokémon Mew meets Steemit, and just like me, Mew is in awe of what it has to offer ^_^

A drawing to express how I feel about Steemit. As an artist, I feel really excited to be a part of this community, that already has such a great diversity when it comes to styles and mediums, and I can't wait for the art community to grow bigger!

Some of the amazing artists on Steemit that has inspiered me to get out of my comfort zone and try out different stuff:

@opheliafu , @camilla , @anca3drandom , @katecloud , @fairytalelife , @kaylinart , @gdsprgdd , @doe


Mew meets Steemit

Mythical pokémon Mew meets Steemit, and just like me, Mew is in awe of what it has to offer ^_^

Size: A6
Paper: Strathmore 300 Series Smooth Bristol
Tools: Copic Sketch markers, Copic multiliners, Prismacolor Premier colored pencil, Sakura white gel pen


Speed drawing video

The drawing took me 2.5 hours to make, and I have put up a speed drawing video of the prosess, 10x the speed.


In progress photos

I used the following markers for the drawing:

  • Background: B91, B93, B95, B97
  • Blues: B0000, B000, B00, B12, B14
  • Pinks: RV000, RV10, RV63

The sketch

I used a warm gray multiliner to outline the drawing

The coloring

Since the background was going to be darker than the objects, I started coloring the objects to avoid the dark marker bleeding into the objects.

This is what the drawing looked like before I added details with colored pencil and white gel pen.


The finished drawing

I added colored pencil to Mews eyes and the Steem logo and highlighted Mew using white gel pen. The stars are also made with white gel pen.


Postface

If you want to know more about me, check out my:


Sort:  

This artwork is fantastic, I wish I could draw as well as you!

Thank you so much ^_^ And you should just start to draw if you want, I have only been drawing for a year. I waited so long before I started cause I figured it wasn't any point since all the good people probably had been drawing since they were kids, but turnes out it's never to late to start. :)

Oh my goodness it is soooo cute!!! I love it! ^^ you are super talented Pixielolz

Thank youu :) Mew is possibly the cutest pokémon, so it's almost bound to be super adorable ^^

The light is amazing, it looks fluorescent and magical

Thank you, I was trying to make it look magical and maybe a bit mysterious :D

That's really cool! Beautful drawing! Mew is one of my favorites :)

What's a white gel pen btw? Looks really awesome!

I just did a comic of my own, was done quickly and would love to get some coloring on future ones. :D

Thank you, yeah Mew is awesome! :D

A gel pen uses ink where the pigment is suspended in a water-based gel. And the ink is opaque, so that you can draw over black or darker colors :) I think it's better to use white acrylics, it gives a better result, but I haven't had a chance to buy it jet.

Thank you ^_^

I'm glad you did a video. I'm sure it will attract more people. Good job with the drawing!

Thank you :)

This is really nice! More awesome art and tutorials from @pixielolz please :)) (It's becoming a daily highlight or something)

Thank you ^_^ And I like the thought of my art/tutorials becoming a daily highlight for someone XD

Yes! Mew is definitely super cute! So is Pikachu! And so many others... hahaa

Yeah, there are loads of cute ones, but Mew is possibly the cutest of them all XD

Not pika pika?! Just look at this cuteness..

squealzzz

Daaaw, he's cute, that's for sure ^_^

Wow @pixielolz! Awesome as always, so cute steememon! :)

Thanks so much ^_^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62647.29
ETH 2439.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66