Fennec Fox - Step by step of my drawing process, from sketch to finished artwork

in #art8 years ago

The the smallest of all canids - the Fennec Fox. This tiny, desert fox uses its unusually large ears to dissipate heat.


The Sketch

I lined my sketch with a regular mechanical pencil and with a brown multiliner, on Arches Hot Press Watercolor Paper. The fox at the bottom is heavily referenced from a photography of a real fennec fox, and the top one is loosely referenced from several different fennec foxes.


The coloring process

I used Copic Markers and white gel pen to make the drawing. I chose a monochromatic color scheme, where I used several different browns.


The background

I started with the lightest parts of the background. The sky, then the mountains, and lastly the fox silhouette.


The Fennec Fox

It was time to color the fennec fox. I have no practice with coloring fur. This was my third attempt at doing so... It's not that easy coloring fur with copics, but I think the end result was okay. 


This is what the drawing looked like when I was done with the copics:


Details

I added details using white gel pen and brown and white color pencils. I'm not entirely satisfied with how the gem turned out, but other than that I'm happy with the drawing.  


The finished drawing


Timelapse


Postface

If you want to know more about me, check out my:

Sort:  

Beautiful drawing, I saw your blog also very good jobs

Thank you :D

amazing fox, it can be a great tattoo sketch!

Thanks a lot! Cool, yeah I can see that :) I originally wanted the fox to come out looking more realistic, but I like the way it ended up as well. I also had intended to add whiskers, but I decided not too.. I do not have a steady hand, so I was afraid of ruining the drawing at the very end, haha..

its alwais a problem! sometimes it almost done and sadenly hand trembled and.....nooooo O_O if drawing is not so big, its not so horrable, but if its large and complex, its very sad :(

Amazing job! It looks so cute, and I love the concept :)

Thank you so much <3

Great job, the overall layout/design is so cool

I think we used the same reference photo of a Fennec!
https://steemit.com/art/@stirlzzz/our-hero-rids-the-bay-of-the-beast-original-whimsical-fantasy-art

Excellent ! Work !
BAD ASSery !

Hint: Use registration marks for alignment for a smooth transition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68072.80
ETH 3780.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72