Indian Ink Mandala

in #art8 years ago (edited)


Wednesday saw the arrival of my eagerly awaited delivery of art supplies. While doodling with pens over the last few weeks has been fun, I've been itching to revisit one of my favorite mediums good old fashioned ink. (I say that like I used to use it all the time in truth I used it a handful of times years ago when I was in collage. but they where my favourite projects. so it's definitly worth a revist and learning to do more with it.)
After spending a few days getting reacquainted by making a mess in my sketchbook practicing lines, curves, and pen technique it was time to draw.
For this mandala I used Winsor Newtons Indian ink, Indian ink is a great choice if you wish to use watercolors or other coloured inks to add colour as it is waterproof once it has dried completely.
I used a dip pen that came with a variety of nibs but for this project I only used the one size to practice varying the line thickness by varying the amount of pressure I put on the nib.
When working with dip pens it's important to use a smooth paper as textured papers will damage your nib and shorten it's lifespan. If you want to work with watercolour opt for pressed paper.


I started by using a compass to draw a series of expanding circles then used a ruler to divide the circles into 8 sections. I then started to build my mandala by repeating simple shapes in each section using my pencil lines as a size guide before filling those shapes in with finer patterns and details.


When I reached a point I wanted to change the shape, I used a pencil to try several designs.

Before committing myself to the one I was happy with in ink.

I used this process again when deciding how to fill in the large space between the new outline and the central section of the mandala.

When stopping to work in pencil it's important to take the time to clean your nibs properly, trust me you don't want to interrupt your work to spend an hour or two scraping dry ink off your nib to get it to work again.

I once again committed to the shapes by outlining in ink and began detailing.

Detailing doesn't have to be complicated any line or mark can become a pattern if you repeat it often enough, and once completed any small variations (or mistakes if you want to get technical) will be barely noticeable due to the large variety of patterns the brain has to interpret.

To finish I added points and a few extra detail to sections I thought needed a little enhancement and left the piece to finish drying.

While it did take a lot longer to compleat​ than many of the pen pieces (approx 9 hours including time to allow sections to dry to avoid smudging.) I have done over the last couple of weeks, I am much happier with the final result.

Now you have seen how it's done why not have a go yourself and be sure to share your results with us here.

Sort:  

Wow that looks amazing, I have started to dabble with this, I've managed a few doodles something similar to what a 3 year old would do. Would love to draw this its fab, well done

there are loads of great doodle tutorials on youtube, just remember to start with the larger shapes and work down to finer details and you'll rock it in no time.

I never thought I'd YouTube thank you, I'm not very good at it BUT I did enjoy trying so thats a plus

This looks great @phoenixmaid! I have never tried dip pens. Are they easy to control?

They're not difficult to control but do take a bit of getting used to. I find it easier if I hold it more like a paintbrush than a pen. I'd also recommend practicing with each nib before using them on a project, as some are more sensitive to pressure than others.
Oh if you do decide to get some be sure to remove the oil coating that protects them by dipping them in boiling water for 30 seconds or running a flame over them for 3 seconds (no longer or the nib becomes brittle)

Hey wow! Great tips! Thanks a million @phoenixmaid. I'll have to look into them next time I am at the art store.

wonderful work, well done with those inks!

Thank you, Ophelia it has been fun. I have some coloured inks. watercolours and acrylics to play with as soon as my new brushes arrive :D

This is beautiful.

Beautiful work!

Sarah - this is beautiful. Absolutely beautiful!
I've only worked with dipped pens once in junior school and I had ink EVERYWHERE. LOL Let's just say that it's in the same category as saran wrap...we agree not to work with each other. I can't wait to see what else you create. :)

Thanks meredith. What on earth where your teachers thinking, i bet the whole class was covered.

INDEED. lol

I flipping almost missed seeing this but had a search for ya! I am glad to see you getting stuck in and this looks excellent! Might attempt a bash. but I suspect it would look like jobbies next to your fine work! :O)

Thanks meester, I'm looking forward to seeing what you do. Right now I'm trying to figure out how to work around the kitty butt smudges Selkie decided to grace my new piece with.

Haha, dashed cats. They just love getting on stuff that you are doing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62