Concept art thumbnail sketches. Inktober!

in #art7 years ago

Cover.jpg

Hi there!

I'm sharing a page of small thumbnail sketches I've been working on. October is also known as Inktober, so I've decided to put away my tablet pen and pick up an ink pen for my concept work.

Thumbnails are small (hence the term thumbnail!) hand drawn sketches that help to establish a subject and composition for a larger illustration or painting. They are excellent for coming up with ideas quickly, as they only take a few minutes to complete due to their small size: I like to go about 8-10cm across.

I lay in a small, rough box, and then sketch my idea in. I like to do this with an ink pen, because it forces you to commit. Pencils are great, but they also allow you to erase, and for me personally, I tend to get more ideas out when I can't erase my lines over and over again.
This is a series of environment ideas.
1.jpg

This scene is a sci-fi environment idea. I wanted a low angle of view, so I made a low horizon line. Note please let me know if you would like me to make a future post going more in depth into perspective and angle of view.

The way I like to work is by keeping the "Rule of Thirds" in the back of my mind when drawing out objects of interest. What this is, is the idea that subject matter sits most comfortably in the frame when it is placed in or close to the intersections made when you split the page into 3, both vertically and horizontally. This isn't a rule that you always need to follow, but it helps to consider it, especially when your drawing just looks a bit unbalanced.

Here is an example below, where I drew in some green lines to show you roughly where the thirds intersect.
5.jpg

It's a very rough sketch, but it shows a character in the foreground on the left is a main subject, looking at some kind of building on the right hand side. Both objects sit roughly in the thirds of the page, which helps lead the eye through the scene.

Here are a few more.
3.jpg

A sci-fi space port perhaps?

2.jpg

The rooftops of some buildings.

4.jpg

A man rowing a boat through a flooded city.

If you want to sketch something but just can't figure out what to draw or perhaps where to start, give these a go! Spend 3 or 4 minutes on each one and fill up a page. Perhaps you'll come up with a new idea you hadn't thought of before and have the beginning of a new picture.

Have fun and see you soon! :)
Peter

Sort:  

Congratulations @peterhenderson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @peterhenderson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @peterhenderson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Truer words...

I like to do this with an ink pen, because it forces you to commit. Pencils are great, but they also allow you to erase, and for me personally, I tend to get more ideas out when I can't erase my lines over and over again.

Yet so many artists feel fear at the though of relinquishing the "safety" of pencil, unfortunately!

Great post!

Congratulations @peterhenderson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

These are great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56739.93
ETH 2400.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30