Original Work - Volcano Bay 2 - Oil on Canvas 16* 20

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey Everyone

A few weeks ago I posted a painting from many years ago of a volcano. Painted back when we use to live in Southern California, in those days I was most inspired by the ocean.

Many years have past since I've painted the ocean and even more since the last volcano. Missing the experience and inspiration of the sea, last week when I posted Volcano Bay, it seemed like a good idea to revisit those days and recreate the scene of an active volcano during it's eruption.

In this painting, Volcano Bay 2, my goal was to create a dramatic volcano in the midst of a major eruption, I also wanted to balance this with cool but vibrant colors that give the feeling of what would be a crisp clear evening atmosphere.

Volcano Bay 2 - Oil on Canvas 16 * 20


final.jpg

To me this piece represents the duality that exists in nature. On the right we see the bright moonlight highlighting the relatively calm existence of the lone pine standing tall. While on the left a major cataclysmic event is taking place. We see these energies coexisting at the same time.

z-volcano-left.jpg

z-volcano-right.jpg

Here is an animation of the painting Volcano Bay 2
volcano-bay-two-animation.gif

Here's the original I did many years ago.

volcano_bay.jpg

And here is the final version of the Volcano Bay 2 that I recently finished:

Volcano Bay 2 - Oil on Canvas 16 * 20


final.jpg

Thank you for taking the time to look and I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below, If you like what you see, don't forget to upvote and follow for more.

Sort:  

That's a wicked painting bro, happy I connected with another awesome artist. Upvoted & Followed!

Yeah I'm happy to find you on here as well. It looks like you are a professional artist in the sense that you earn your living with with your work? Is that right? That's the next step for me, I really want to spend some time with the business side of things this year. I'm more than a hobby painter, it's a major part of my life, I just haven't spent much time making my work available to the public. If you have any tips in the area it would be much appreciated! Thanks again!

Yes I make more than I can spend now, truly blessed. Start by this bro: have a vision and belive in it 100%. If you can't see yourself succeed in your head, in a very tangible way, it won't happen. It's not a wishful thinking, has to be certainty. Secondly, always do it for love and love only. Money is side effect. Thirdly: get you name out there and be bold. Even if I wanted to call you by your name, which I want, I can't see it anywhere. Ditch the nicknames forever , consider yourself famous artist already and your name is your brand! BE PUBLIC AND DON'T GIVE TWO FUCKS ABOUT WHAT ANYONE ELSE THINKS! Cheers bro, add me on facebook if you want to see more. I' easy to find cause my name is my brand ;) Good luck, although luck is for wannabees, it's an illusion. It's all about input and output.

Hey thank you, your words really mean a lot and are even more, very well timed. Actually today I've been a bit stuck in my head about luck good or bad, both (creating my own roadblocks.) I kind of feel like that was some sort of test. So I went for a walk and come home and read your comment "luck is an illusion for wannabees" Again I really appreciate it, and yes getting my name out there and becoming public will be a big step. I'm definitely a social person in the real world but I don't even use Facebook or any other social network really other than Steemit.

Your art speaks of peace and introspection ... The time has come when you need it, you do not know how many people you can help with art ... Do not stop! its beautiful!

Wow what an amazing thing to say thank you!

woow... nice picture..amazing
follow n vote me @fadhluns.kom
ap.1.jpg

I really like your art, and hope be like you.
if you do not mind, please visit and advise my art blog.

Hey I appreciate and I will take a look at your work, and thank you!

I love it. The sea looks a bit angrier in the second one, but I really like the lighting a lot more.

Yes the new one is a lot more energy filled than the first one. The piece I'm working on now is quite the opposite it's very tranquil. I might have that one finished either today or tomorrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67527.39
ETH 3259.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64