Original Work - Oil on Canvas 11 * 14 - A North Pole Christmas

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey Everyone

Over the Holiday Season I was very inspired to paint a few Christmas scenes and although the season is over I thought I would share with you the painting that I just finished that was on my easel during Christmas and New Years.

I imagine that this scene takes place somewhere in the North Pole and depicts perhaps Santa's on Christmas Eve.

11 * 14 - Oil on Canvas - A North Pole Christmas (This is the Final)


final.jpg

Materials used:
Oil Paints
Grumbacher Red, Phthalo Blue, Permanent Green, Cadmium Yellow, Cadmium Yellow Light, Titanium White

Mediums
Linseed Oil
Liquin

Several random brushes but most was done with a flat brush and # 1 round

The Process


First I scribbled out a very basic sketch on a piece of paper.


scribble sketch.jpg

Once I had the basic idea down on a piece of paper, I then sketched out the scene onto the canvas


canvas-sketch.jpg

I begin to fill in the blues of the sky and add white to where light will later be added such as the moon and the street light


1.jpg

Next I begin to add yellows where there will be artificial light sources later on. For this I mix Cadmium Yellow with a little white and the smallest touch of red


2.jpg

Here I paint the undercoat of the cottage and start the under painting of the pine trees


3.jpg

At this point in the painting I start to develop just how the land will be layed out and block in a bit more trees


4.jpg

More land (snow) and more trees


5.jpg

Here I level out the land with texture, hills, valleys, and frame the scene by beginning to define the Christmas tree on the left and add the large pine on the right. Additionally I removed the light for the light post temporarily

6.jpg

Now I begin to block in a path and define the final shape of the house. There is also a stairway added.


7.jpg

Now we are starting to really see what we have here in this Christmas Scene. I'm working to bring the house into focus, I spend some time defining the Christmas tree on the left and define the bark and branches on the tree on the right. At this point I reintroduce the street lamp.


8.jpg

The icy reflection is added to the path and color is added to the Christmas cottage.


9.jpg

Here I begin the process of painting the christmas lights on the Christmas tree and add the snow that's fallen on the branches of the big pine tree


10.jpg

Here you'll notice that I've really thickened the number of trees in the forest, added lots of snow on the foliage, define the flow of the icy path and increased the glow of all the lights as well as added more smoke from the chimney
11.jpg

Now the final glow is added to the Christmas tree lights as well as cabin and I've added highlights and sparkles everywhere! This is the Complete painting


11 * 14 - Oil on Canvas - A North Pole Christmas (This is the Final)


final.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to look and let me wish you just one last Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

I would love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

Sort:  

wow, the great work nice painting @pennyroll

Thank you, I appreciate that very much!

magical winter picture:) very nice:)) I would like to be in this place:)

Thank you, I'm really glad you like it, I like to paint places that the viewer can escape to. :)

¡muy bueno tienes mi voto!

muchos gracias!!

This painting is great! Very amazed!

I'm really glad you enjoy it, thank you!

turned out awesome!! great work there. one thing i like the most about oil painting is that huge flexibility to keep tuning the color forever.

Thank you, I agree I love oil the only issue is the slow drying time, however, liquin in an excellent medium to speed up the drying time. I really enjoy your artwork! Followed!

Just Gorgeous. Very beautiful and atmospheric . Love it. Love the warm glow of home and love on cold white winter snow ! Winter Warmth 😊💕

Hey @nehab I really appreciate that, I always enjoy your comments! Thank you!

My pleasure 😊 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57337.14
ETH 2342.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35