EXPLORING VULNERABILITY

in #art6 years ago

Being open is a challenging subject in the field of creativity. It’s easy to create a place that becomes safe, even within the parameters of being outside a comfort zone.

What is comfortable for one person, is not for the next. However, a common reality is echoed in understanding that to create is to put something new into existence.

So what constitutes new? Perhaps any creation can be deemed as not existing before and so it could be suggested that it is new.

The moment or collections of moments that constitute the time that the object or idea took to form will involve a combination of events that could never happen again.

So the philosophical intrigues are many. A vulnerability is often a condition that one experiences during activities within the creative process

Most of us common mortals feel ill at ease in the state of vulnerability.

So what is this?
For me, as I suggested earlier, the state of ease is found in patterns of behaviour that I am familiar with.

Developing a balanced approach to the creative process is difficult to sustain. Could this be partly due to the fact that a new moment can be one that we have not experienced before?

The nature of a creative moment at times will be an attempt at an already trodden path. For example, whilst making a painting I can revisit marks on a canvas many times before really securing a relationship with that mark and henceforth establishing a congruent relationship between myself and the object that I am creating.

So am I vulnerable at that point? I feel that I am certainly open.

I would like to conclude that the idea of being open is more in tune with the creative process. Am I open to your ideas?

Patrick Turner-Lee

“Make a Painting” Courses available ptlart.com

CreativityOil PaintingArtBrightonFine Art

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63745.68
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86