Spinning a yarn...silky green

in #art7 years ago

Just look at this fiber goodness.

IMG_0308.JPG
This fiber is a lite blended mix of moreno wool and silk. The blending was done on my home made blending board. The fiber is blended and pulled off in wrap called a rolag. Six rolags from this mixture awaited my spinning wheel...

IMG_0311.JPG
One bobbin full! This is a single ply of yarn spun up and ready to rest for a bit while i get a second one going. Once I get two bobbins full of single ply its time to wind them together to create a 2-ply yarn. Doing this helps balance out the yarn and makes for a really appealing finished yarn.

IMG_0314.JPG
Here is a close up of the two bobbins plied together! i realy enjoy seeing how the fibers and colors come together in the end.

![IMG_0359.JPG](
In the end I got two full bobbins of this gorgeous yarn. This yarn is vibrant with a bouncy feel to it. By know I usually know what my finished yarn will be turned into. This is destined to be a warm and stunning slouch hat!

Comments? Ideas? I am always looking for new fibers to play with and new techniques to try.

Sort:  

Hopefully one day they will implement Steemit market! And then you could sell what you make here! and I would buy it haha. I love that color! It looks awesome!

Great post! and informative. Thank you.

Thank you for responding to my post. Steemit market would be awesome to have. I will make sure to post a pic of the hat when I am done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80