Spinning a yarn...Mystery woolssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Every now and then I come across wool for sell that has no info with it. what it is, when it was sheared, how did it get there in the first place...you get the idea.
I came across some "mystery fleece" over a year ago and after cleaning it up and drying it out I put it in the back of the wool bin to sit. About a month ago I decided to use it or pitch it. I never get rid of good wool so the decision was made.
IMG_0337.JPG

After grabbing some left over cinnamon colored silk and some merino wool, I got to work combing and blending my mystery wool.

IMG_0336.JPG
These resulting rolags came from the mix of Moreno and the silk with the first mystery fleece.

IMG_0340.JPG
This batch of rolags are just the silk and the second mystery fleece.
IMG_0341.JPG
I decided to pull some of the fiber from each mystery fleece and combine them to see what would happen (sorry, no pics on those rolags).
The resulting yarns from these batches have truly inspired me to keep collecting mystery fleece.
Mystery wool and silk:
IMG_0490.JPG
Mystery wool, silk and Moreno:
IMG_0493.JPG
Mystery wools combined:
IMG_0492.JPG
For an added surprise, non of the yarns are itchy! These yarns are bouncy and nice to touch.
There you go folks, proof and encouragement that almost any wool is worth the effort and to get out there and find some mystery yarn to make into wonderful original crafts from. Head out today to find some craft fair /bazaar treasures and such. Fingers always crossed that I will happen upon more strange and unknown fibers to create some more unique art yarns from. Good luck and as always...
Happy spinning!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97