Where my Art comes from - Part 1

in #art7 years ago

I'm working on a couple of new projects. I'll talk about it in a few days, I think.

What I'm trying to write now is an inventory of images that influenced my art. I know that my style - good or bad - is made of a little list of effects that I learnt to use:

  • Transparence
  • Perspective and lacking of it
  • Fairy-tale characters
  • Animals
  • Strong contrast
  • Multiple layers
  • Symbols
  • Complementary colours
  • Primitivism.

Where did I saw those effects and how they influenced me? There is another list, hidden in my life,  that's made of artworks I met. I remember some of them and the moment they hit me, but not all of them.

I don't know if it is good, for an artist, to recap all those epiphanies. Maybe not. But I'm going to go through that memories anyway, because it is part of one of the projects i was talking about.

Transparence. Where did it come to me from? I don't know. I have to dig more to remember this. But Maybe Jackson Pollock's artworks have a role in that. And probably some Doctor Strange story drawn by Steve Ditko.

Steve Ditko's drawings influenced me in more ways, probably. 

Perspective and lacking of it. The biggest influence about using the prospective view came to me, probably, watching some Paolo Uccello's painting - and, later, De Chirico's metaphisics cities.

But the narrative lacking of perspective is more interesting. I discovered it in the ancient Romanic bassrelieves. For example, in the Giovanni Pisano's sculpture, where the space is not perspective but narrative.

Fairy-tales characters. There are too many sources for this in my experience, and I can't remember most of them. Some books from my childhood played a part, probably. But also the oldest Walt Disney's cartoons, the Little Nemo stories (by Winsor McCay) and the characters from Henri Rousseau's paintings

Animals. For this theme I have a precise muse: Franz Marc and his amazing paintings.


Ok, I think it is enough for now - even if I told not much actually. It will take more than one post to tell about this digging ;)

Images Sources:

https://www.jackson-pollock.org/autumn-rhythm.jsp

https://nick-caputo.blogspot.it/2016/10/dr-strange-beginning.html

http://www.waitwhatpodcast.com/sketchbook-dr-strange/

https://www.frammentiarte.it/2016/06-01-diluvio-e-recessione-delle-acque/

http://www.opificiodellepietredure.it/index.php?it/854/giovanni-pisano-pulpito-santandrea-pistoia

https://www.stilearte.it/doganiere-rousseau-il-video-animato-dellincantatrice-dei-serpenti/

http://www.roberto-crosio.net/1_citta/DE_CHIRICO_SPAZI.htm

https://www.wikiart.org/en/franz-marc/three-cats-1913

https://www.art-prints-on-demand.com/a/franz-marc/from-the-sketchbook-of-th.html

Sort:  

This is so fun to see and I can really understand your influences better! What a fantastic post!!

Interesting list, actually I see some of my influences too there, De Chirico being one of my favorites!

A reflect on where your art came from. Its quit very impressive to recall and make references to the channels and sources in which the ideas comes from.

even if I told not much actually. It will take more than one post to tell about this digging ;)

Such detailed digging and findings can't obviously be contained in a post but the good thing is that am already a fan, following and eager to read more no matter the number of posts it will take ti express the subject matter.

It’s not the first time, looking at your creations that De Chirico weird perspectives come into mind! Very interesting seeing pieces of techniques embedded in a unique style!

i think your this projects interesting and your art impressed me.... great photography and post...

you are a wise man @paolobeneforti
and I'm sure a lot of supporters if it's a plan, thanks to the boss
because it has published our news to us steemian, maybe we can come too like you, because it's a good plan
thanks @paulobeneforti


Hello, @paolobeneforti
Your amazing post is selected to appear on @artshares, where we promote, support and help artists just like yourself reach a wider audience on the platform.


Join our project by adding hashtag #artshares in your posts, and receive a free upvote from us. Let's help artists grow on the Steem blockchain!


I love reading posts like these to find new sources of inspiration. I like that you included Dr. Strange, the first comic I ever owned.

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60745.88
ETH 2640.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56