Upgrading Steemarket.com with the SteemPress plugin - and next steps

in #art6 years ago

My website for Steem artists, Steemarket, has been online for some months but it is still just a beta version of what I meant to do. 

Now @howo created for me an amazing plugin (thx!) to upgrade the website and I installed and tested it (Steempress)

What does that plugin do? It simply creates a post on Steem (in my alt account @makersunited) with the content of every new post added to Steemarket. This way every artwork and news added to Steemarket stays on the blockchain and the dedicated account, @makersunited, becomes a mirror of the showcase website.

Which is the purpose of it?

Steemarket has been created to be a showcase for Steem artists to offer for sale their original artworks, and sell them for Steem, SBD and other cryptocurrencies. But basically it is a place to show the Art created by Steem artist in one website. I have very poor tech skill, so Steemarket is still basically a wordpress blog - just a test beta version actually.

In these months of testing the showcase, I started to think of it as a proper interface for the Steem artists so to allow them:

  • to give more visibility (and possibly more upvotes) to their artworks posted on Steem
  • to share news about exhibitions and contests around the world
  • to collaborate

In the meanwhile the Steem Marketing Team started to talk about the subcommunity feature as a priority to develope Steem as a social media. The following announcement about Smart Media Token made us think even more about the future subcommunities on Steem. So I started too to think of Steemarket as an app to help the Art subcommunity on Steem to work and grow.

The Utopian project showed to me also how a actual subcommunity can work: Utopian is basically the subcommunity of developers on Steem. It is somehow like the guild of developers, and it helps them and rewards them (by a large delegated voting power).

Shortly, I'm trying to create for Art and artists what Utopian is for developers.

I've not the tech skills to build a very structured interface for posting - like Utopian is - but I'm going to find a way to upgrade Steemarket so to become something like that.

The new plugin @howo did for me, and I installed, is a first step to encourage artists to add their artworks on Steemarket, so that each post they publish on Steem, not only can be offered for sale in a web showcase, but it will be also replicated on the @makersunited account and will have more visibility. And this can create a good starting group for the future Art subcommunity, when it will be launched by the Steem developers (in a future hardfork, I guess).

At the moment Steemarket works manually: artists can post their artworks in the Steemarket room on Steemit.chat, or in the Discord server I created for that, and then I manually post them artworks on Steemarket. In the next days this procedure will become automatic and each artist will be able to add their artworks to Steemarket (and to post also news, suggestion, projects and so on). 

The next step will be to create a more structured website and have a group of people to help me to filter and moderate every new post added to Steemarket.

I know this goal is beyond my capacity. But I count on collaboration!

What do you think?


Sort:  

The whole project, and the implementation will give a boost to the artists community. Of course this is just the foundation, but the idea is great and I hope it will develop soon!

Things just keep on getting better and better!

yes, Steem makes amazing things becoming real! :)

This is a very interesting information, I did not think there was a place in steemit only for artists, could you tell me more?

I'll update about it as soon as it will work properly, with registration and upload form to add artworks directly on the website

Sounds fantastic, is there more information in the discord channel?

not yet - I'll update there too as soon as the upgrade is working :)

ok See you in discord then:)

Awesome concept, my friend @artywink's husband is a sculptor and painter, sure they would love this idea. I had thought about starting a steemitbnb, could perhaps do something similar but really find this a challenge!

I think it's a brilliant idea just what Steemit artist s need.@paolobeneforti good luck

Fantastic idea @paolobeneforti great initiative and wow its a pretty complex app in the background, seems like @howo really done a great job well done guys with this community.

I think this is a fantastic idea, I'm an artist and would love to sell my works via Steemit!

IMG_7305.JPG

I think you’re on to an interesting workflow idea with SteemPress that I hadn’t considered! Allowing users to submit content through the WordPress interface and utilizing WPs already developed moderation tools creates a great submission pipeline for a jointly used account.

It was already a great idea and this seems like a great step forward to further make it easier for people to participate. There are definitely so many artists on this platform that can easily start taking part in this now.

That's interesting idea, atm it looks like something really hard to accomplish, but i guess all great ideas starts like that. If this idea will help steemit community to grow, or it will make steemit a better place than it's definitely worth to try:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16