5 more sketches and how I changed my mind about what an artist should do

in #art6 years ago

Today's drawing session has been quite satisfying - and I don't say it often!

I did a lot of drawings and little paintings in the last months. Somehow it happened also because of  thanx to Steem ;)

Of course, I did thousands of sketches along 39 years of artistic activity. When I was very young, I used to try different styles, techniques, subjects all the time. Later I have been conditioned a bit by the belief than an artist should have a style and a few subjects, so to can be recognized by his work. Today I don't care anymore about that and I just do what I want to. I have to do what I'm interested in, what comes out of my creativity. Otherwise it's it's just know-how ;)

Here is what I did today:


Sort:  

It is a really difficult thing to get out of many stereotypes, old rules and critics, for some of us it takes long time to realise what our style is or if we actually need one.

Other artists, very talented, get really frustated because of this. I personally believe that at this time, an artist do not need an specif subject, art is freedom and there is no need to be locked in just a few subjects.

We do not need to explain what art is or put it a name, because at the end every one of us have a own idea or explanation about it.

A piece of art should speaks by itself.

By the way, your work feels very personal and unique so continue drawing, steemit is a big motivation and I feel glad you have found a new virtual gallery to share your work with us.

Thanks for sharing

The second one is my favorite !
And i also like the " i don't care" attitude, i think
that is exactly when the really good things happen!
:-)
great.jpg

Steemit too played a huge role in that i think which is great for you and helped you to post more and more of the creative work

Wow and the last second one was so satisfying to watch incredible work by you today :)

Work is very smooth, it takes a calm mindset to get maximum results, I think this is a high imagination like the sixth sense

Good sketches here @paolobeneforti that dog as eaten alot of things lol, the first image reminds me of flying through the air and the boat one really stops you to try and work it out nicely done.

Ciao Paolo, illuminante questo post... soprattutto questa tua frase

Today I don't care anymore about that and I just do what I want to.

Grazie!

Later I have been conditioned a bit by the belief than an artist should have a style and a few subjects, so to can be recognized by his work.

I understand where you are coming from with that statement. As an artist blogger I find the work I share is a lot more versatile (volatile?!), it responds to what I am thinking about that day (or moment)- and no two days are the same.

your is a good way - the blogger one, I mean. It took years for me to get it

This is amazing man. Wow. I love these, and I love your thoughts. Honestly, I think I can tell if you made something with your "style". But you could do something in a completely different medium and I think you would still be a huge part of that. So we might still think it's you. If that makes sense.

I'm a big fan of the ambiguity and double exposure effect of the second one. I see a lot of overlays when a migraine starts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68