Selene: The Goddess of the Moon

in #art6 years ago (edited)
When I learned of the New theme chosen for this week "MYTHOLOGY", for the contest sponsored by @kommienezuspadt for Trial By Comics, the first thing that came to my mind was the Goddess of the Moon, but I did not know how to translate it, I had too many ideas in my head, in fact I made some sketches but none I liked, so I decided to draw first PANDORA and its mysterious box, to then leave my beloved Goddess of the Moon.


The story of this beautiful Goddess has always captivated me, in love with Prince Endymion of the Earth, that's why I arranged it in my illustration, she is in her palace on the moon, looking with longing at the beautiful land where her beloved lives .

selene1.jpg

Selene was a Titan goddess in Greek mythology, daughter of the TitansHyperion and Theia. She had two siblings, Helios and Eos. She was the goddess of the moon, which she drove every night across the skies. Selene was linked to Artemis as well as Hecate; all three were considered lunar goddesses. She had an affair with a mortal named Endymion, whom Zeus had granted the choice of when he would die; Endymion chose to fall into an eternal sleep to remain ageless and deathless. Selene drove the silver moon chariot which was carried by two snow-white horses, as opposed to the golden sun chariot which was carried by four.

Source

separador.png

STEP BY STEP


For my drawing I used letter size opaline cardboard, and with a pencil 3B, I made my initial sketch, she is standing on the balcony of her palace, her face partially turned towards the viewer, she longs for the earth and see her beloved Endymion, she has silver hair, her clothes are all clear, she is white like the moon itself, full of beauty and splendor.

20180908_132112.jpg

20180908_132115.jpg

The next thing was to start to give lights and shadows, her hair is clear, so it did not take long to make its shadow effects, to then go down to her face, sweet and delicate, with an expression of longing.

20180908_133407.jpg

20180908_134515.jpg

Later I continued with his wardrobe, and the surroundings, all with a simple pencil 3B, very soft and tenuous, to then go to the bottom of the drawing, the surface of the moon, the earth and the dark space that surrounds it, for which simply I blew with the help of a 7B pencil, and go! This is how my beautiful princess Selene ended up.

20180908_144654.jpg

20180908_144700.jpg

selene1.jpg

separador.png

Thank you, dear friends, for giving me part of your time and read me. I loved this illustration, I think it will be one of my favorites, I adore the story of this Goddess and I hope someday I will be happy with her beloved Endymion.
You want them, KISSES!

sigueme2.gif

Sort:  

Very cool. You are quite talented.

Thank you very much

She is very pretty, @paokarinat ! Her dress is so delicate and beautifully layered <3 She looks a bit lonely by herself in the moon, so I hope she will have friends that visit her often :D

Good luck in the contest !!!

Thanks my dear @veryspider. Indeed she is very alone, and if they do not visit her she will have to go to her beloved land : D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83