You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is Art and Who Defines It?

in #art6 years ago

Interesting and thought-provoking. I love art, the concept and I also love many works of art themselves. However, I've grown to loathe art in the modern sense of it. I feel a lot of it is put a top a pedestal, merely because it is art. Whereas other works of art, by unknown or unrecognized people, is dismissed as 'nice craftsmanship'.
Sadly there is a lot of pretentionists in the current art world.

Theoretically I adhere to the 'art can be anything' doctrine but in practice I notice that I lean much more towards seperating what I consider to be actual art from the 'pretentious' kind.

Sort:  

Your point that works of art by unknown or unrecognized people get dismissed as “nice craftsmanship” really rings true for me--I’ve definitely seen that attitude played out in real life. Thanks for stopping by to check out the post! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33