eARTh: Oxygen II

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Oxygen II
Triptych 120 x 120 cm (47"x47")
Mixed Media
Private Collection, Miami FL USA

After my first oxygen piece I felt the urge to create this second and improved version. I kept on thinking how important Oxygen is in life. Without it, there would be no life (the way we know it). Our lifes depend on it and still we take it for granted. Plants are so important in the production of oxygen and thus, life. As I said in my previous post, plants are literally oxygen producing "machines".

This piece is a collage composed of three panels. They all toghether ad up a surface of 120 x 120 cm (47"x47"). There is a group of four huge flowers, they are all created using dried leaves. The leaves I used come from a particular tree that grows in the rain forest. When they dry they become copper/gold. The bubbles represent the oxygen in the air which in turn have been fabricated by the "oxygen machines". The turquoise color used for the background represents this planet's water. As we know, oxygen is a component of water and in turn water is the major constituent of all organisms.

The turquoise color makes me think of water, swimming in a pool, summer, vacations in the Caribbean. It gives me a sense of peace, feeling cool, relaxation and tranquility. Of course that is my own interpretation of the color.

I hope you enjoyed this image and together with the thougts, you were led to think about caring for the planet and sustainability. Remember that what we put in the air, somehow it comes back to us. After all, we only have one life and one planet.

If you like my posts, please follow me and upvote me. Everything that I have put on this steemit post is mine (artwork, writing and time). Thank you for reading this far.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Wow Pablo, this is a beautiful work of art ... How long does it take you to make something like this?

Thank you Lawson. The average time is one week. Unfortunately I can not show the high gloss finish that I apply to the work of art. It has a super contemporary look. If I want to show the shine then you can not see well the image. You know what I mean?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62390.04
ETH 2455.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66