Sort:  

That "post" pushed me over the edge too.

I used to be on the fence about bid bots and their effect on our ecosystem.

Now I've seen time after time, the owners of the bots not removing their upvotes.

Bid Bot Owners

Just refund the damn blatant plagiarists and remove the upvote. Is that not worth it in the long run? I know it hurts your wallet in the short term, yet think of the long term, the future.

Now you're going the way of the dinosaurs, I seriously sense the tides shifting.

I called out the 3 top upvoters on that "post" (@buildawhale @sneaky-ninja @tipu). None responded. None removed their upvotes.

Shame.

SHAME Bid Bot Owners.gif

@overkillcoin, regarding what you wrote:

On one hand, I really want Steem to succeed, on the other, I'm glad there are alternatives because vote-selling is getting toxic.

I disagree with you there, yet I don't judge anyone for seeking out other options. Especially when they are needing as much spare cash as possible cause they're trying to get away from the man.

However, the only way that shit like this can get fixed, is if we can all work together and figure it out.

And the only way that can happen is going to take some time, because evolution is not something that can be rushed.

<3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

I have shared this frustration on many occasions. I maybe have been able to coordinate a couple of unvotes for disagreement of rewards. Think it was from @bluemist's bot if I am not mistaken.

I've learned to accept getting them blacklisted as a measure of success but, in reality, getting one abuser account blacklisted is hardly a success when all they need to do is use another account or service.

I am certain a number of abuse accounts have enough stake to claim discounted accounts as well so they just move operations.

The best way to decision stop an abuser is for the bot owners to unvote and NOT refund but that won't stop abusers from using a less scrupulous services. It still will hit them in the finances and that makes abuse a risky game as it should be.

Probably my chief complaints is the bid bots accumulation of so much stake while making this mess but so few would actually use it to delegate or flag abuse to clean it up.

@themarkymark has done both of these. He was also 1/4 of our bid bot owners (former or current) that has delegated in the past. He also provides server resources so that's helpful towards a project that is aimed to help enrich the ecosystem.

Hopefully, we get a few more bot owners to pony the "bill" against abuse in general and maybe start paying those that take the time out of their day to go seek it.

Overall, I agree with you about bid bots. The only reason I have kept a handful on my witness votes is they ones that have coordinated with us against abuse in some way.

@themarkymark has done both of these. He was also 1/4 of our bid bot owners (former or current) that has delegated in the past. He also provides server resources so that's helpful towards a project that is aimed to help enrich the ecosystem.

Hopefully, we get a few more bot owners to pony the "bill" against abuse in general and maybe start paying those that take the time out of their day to go seek it.

Here's an analogy, it may not be the best one and I apologize for that:

It's a bit like if someone were going around lighting fires in our apartment building. And then we congratulate them because they put two or three of them out by themselves, instead of us having to do it by ourselves those times.

I may sound like a hard ass, and maybe that's what I've become. I'm inVested here. Body, Mind & Soul.

I'm seeing that a few of these crime fighters that I looked up to, may not be all that I thought they were.

It's not a bad analogy, @lyndsaybowes.

One thing I would point out is the lighting the apartment fires isn't necessarily intentional on the part of the bid bot owners but, regardless of intent, the end result is the same. We have a mess on ALL of our hands because of their business model.

To be frank, I do hold the bot owners accountable but to various degrees. They incurred a cost to us all by their business and believe the ethical response for them is for them to now use their stake that was acquired I the process to fix it.

Some of these bot owners may have implemented aome measure of controls to reduce the mess like a blacklist but I don't think that absolves them from the responsibility of cleanup.

Do I think it's their duty to fix this if they want to preserve their business? Yes.

Do I think they are going to do it? Hell no.

Think, we need to mark the ones that do absolutely nothing and let out flags speak to their business... All in due time.

I am glad that you are here and where I can know how you are, you know that it is always a pleasure to see your art, the days stink sometimes but with you everything is different. Yes, I understand it perfectly! because many bots I think that the normal voting has decreased and so many things that happen I hope they improve.
Steemit is great, some changes have to be made.
You have brought a horde on this subject!😁
Just kidding! But yes, the case of robots affects many, most of all to the little 🤕

Its a stamina of your , sir your sketch is 100 % based on best sketches it is voice of my heart any ways in last:
make some noise for @overkilcoin

I like your comment, it's very fun - thank you! :)

It is good that you already have some free time on the other hand your image is the stark reality that the community lives with spammers I thought that after the HF would have a fairly noticeable change with respect to that, in fact there was with the Mana and the number of times you can comment but even so spammers continue to make their own

I guess it's more or less about the vote selling... I understand investors want to make a profit and all, and that's fine, but the spammers get massive payouts by bribing mindless bots to upvote them... and it's not usual that there's any oversight...

Bad piggies, they still thrive here! :O

hola amigo siempre me ha gustado tu arte son unos hermosos bocetos bien trabajado gracias por compartir
que tengas una feliz noches <3<3<<3

Well at least the other minnows won't get cavities lol!

-Been studying non stop for the last week and have been to reduced to dental jokes, sorry in adv

Gracias por mostrarnos tu excelente trabajo amigo @overkillcoin. Gracias por eso y felices fiestas de Halloween

Your cartoon is sad but true. Spamming bots are everywhere and destroy the purity of our Steemit. Your drawing was well done though. Take time and enjoy yourself @overkillcoin.

As always a great theme comic!!

Thanks, I'd give you an upvote but almost all my SP is being delegated out heheehe...

Some women keep loyalty without SP :=)

I liked the comment @mister-omortson ;) He knows I have sympathy for you, regardless of SP :)

Она его за муки полюбила. а он ее за сострадание (с) :-)

Excellent piece of art. It looks very clearly that how much you had worked on it. Time of week there is no dout in it. Time+Thinking+Hardwork+Determination. These things cam be seen very clearly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95