Spooky Attic - ART CONTEST #11. LET'S GO UPSTAIRS !

in #art6 years ago

Presenting my entry for @agneslaczo 's latest contest where she asked us to draw an attic scene.

enter image description here

I did a cross-section of an imaginary attic, but the trusses and the low pitch of the roof are inspired by my real attic. The roof tiles are inspired by the clay tile roofs you see in the south of France and other warm climates. This could be a witch’s attic since there are so many magic potion ingredients up there…but maybe it’s just an old house…

I decided to go spooky for several reasons:

  • Attics are dark, full of spiders and spooky by nature
  • That’s where ghosts live
  • I’ve been encouraging my aunt to make the doll house she is building a spooky dollhouse, but she refuses, so someone has to do it!
  • I just saw a funny post somewhere the other day where someone had used doll heads as planters - so I had doll heads on my mind and thought I’d toss a few in here.

Unfortunately, I might get disqualified because I forgot to take any process photos as I went along. I guess I got a little carried away. I also just saw it was supposed to be an old castle - my castle is a domestic castle ;-) Oh well, I thought I’d share anyway!

enter image description here

My fanciest supplies were my drawing pencil, the Canson drawing paper I used, and the Micron pens I used to trace over the pencil. Then I just used a combination of watercolor markers and colored pencils so the color wouldn’t be too saturated.

Thanks for running this contest! It’s always fun :-)

Written with StackEdit.

SMbannersmall.png

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Ladies of Steemit Tan banner.jpeg

Upcommentresteemthankyou.png

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36