Two four-leaf clovers!

in #art7 years ago

cloverpaintthumb.jpg

Lucky?

I'm not much of a believer in luck. Apparently the chance of finding a four-leaf clover is 1 in 10,000. With most things though I think if you want to be in with a chance you need to participate. In this case I needed to have my eyes on the ground looking for a four-leaf clover.

clover.gif

Yes! I spotted a four-leaf clover. I picked it up and gave it to my father. He then went looking amongst another clover patch for one, and a few minutes later returned with our second four-leaf clover.

It's not the first time that I have found a four-leaf clover, but I usually put them between the pages of a book to press and then forget which book I put them in!

twoclovers.jpg

Unlucky?

I used to say I was unlucky at competitions, but the reality was that I just never entered any. A few years ago that changed, I started to enter online competitions. I'd spend a couple of hours each week entering things and within a few months I'd won quite a few things. It wasn't really that I had been unlucky before, I just didn't take advantage of the opportunities.

cloverfour.jpg

Just in case I misplace these two clovers I have made a painting of them!

cloverpaint.jpg

Watercolours and pen on paper

The four-leaf clover is a rare variation of the common three-leaf clover. According to tradition, such clovers bring good luck: In addition, each leaf is believed to represent something: the first is for faith, the second is for hope, the third is for love, and the fourth is for luck.
Source Wikipedia

Sort:  

A shamrock or three leaf clovers is the symbol of Ireland. It is said that Saint Patrick used it to explain the Holy Trinity. I'm not sure what he thought of a four-leaf clover but we do have the expression the Luck of the Irish.

No that would have ruined his explanation, but i'm sure he would have thought of something for that 4th leaf.

This is so in amazing. I was just thinking about this today. This exact thing happened to me years ago. When I was a little girl. I was about 10 or 11 and I was waiting to be picked up from school by my mom. I sat down on a patch of grass outside. Saw there were some clover weeds mixed in the short mowed grass. I remember I clearly decided/ intended I was going to pick out a four leaf clover.. I moved my hand around the grass and voila, I pulled it out! .. I was in awe.. because I looked closer at all the other clovers and they were 3 leaf. Then a little boy a year younger then me ran up, and asked what I was doing... I told him to sit down and explained that if he decided he is going to pull out a four leaf clover, then move his hand over the grass, pick one and pull it out.. that it will be a four leaf clover. So he sat down right in front of me, and did it. And he also pulled out a four leaf clover. .. Then his family pulled up to pick him up in a van. HE got up holding his clover and waved at me as his got in the van. I just sat there cross legged in awe holding mine. I still have it saved some where in a journal. Four leaf clover magic. <3 Upvoted!

I always look for the slightly odd looking ones, this one was sticking p slightly. An excellent story- both of you found one wow!

@opheliafu - I do not know whether your being lucky or unlucky with competitions had anything to do with 4 leaf clovers or not. However, I do know that you would have probably won a lot of competitions if you had entered them because you are a talented painter. I really like the way you have done the simplistic but elegant painting of the clovers. The contrasting and fuzzy colors used at the edges emphasize the form of the clovers. Thanks for sharing the painting and your perspective on clovers.

Upvoted and followed.

I request you to visit my latest blogs when you have time and leave your valuable comments. I have posted a blog about a mystique boat ride on the river Ganges :)

Regards,
A minnow (15 days old)

minnow.jpgsteemit1.png

The competitions were mainly not to do with art; furniture, coffee machines, clothing etc.

Lucky Lucky Lucky! Or maybe just good!

Not one...but two? Good for you! And good for us that you have a painting of them! :) May good luck follow you on your path of life! :)

In think it's just a genetic mutation, so not really lucky.

Feel like it is lucky and you will be lucky. :)

Trefle in gif, in painting, as well as in photo always complete your articles! I would love to find a four-leaf clover one day

Thank you for appreciating my formatting! :D

Simple and chill. Love your stories and beautiful drawings that complement them! :)

I don't believe in luck. On the contrary, though I believe you create your own luck when you let yourself walk roads of opportunity and potential.

Though I don't believe in pure luck my mother has the craziest luck when it comes to small lottery, keno and bingo, lol. In the Mid-90s she actually won $10,000 on a scratch n' win. The crazy thing was that my father won $10,000 on a scratch n' win 8 months later and he never wins anything.

Lately because has become desperate I think for money she has been playing on-line bingo and of course I was a little concerned coz I am suspicious that it's algorithms and could be manipulated. She told me that she has won several games in the last month, prizes from a few hundred to just over $1000. Of course, my next question was but how much money have you spent in that time and she told me less than $100. I was like uhh, ok :/ Just in the last week and a half she has won another 2 prizes of about $600 and $800 something. It's really uncanny.

I so happy as she doesn't have a lot of money and has always worked so hard and sacrificed so much. She's 70yrs old and still hairdressing out of her home with the few clients she has still living, is looking after my father with dementia and her little sister who has 4th stage cancer. I'm going to work hard on steemit so I can help her out.

Anyway love what you do. Haven't been around to see what you have been up to lately working a lot but trying to post once a day when I have the time. I find steemit hard to get around and keep up on followers. Are there any resources or tips u have that help you navigate better on steemit?

I understand what you are saying about navigating around. I'm currently working through today's art tag- it used to take me an hour to work through 24hrs of posts, I'm still only on the 1st 4 hrs!! I use the search facility if there is a subject I want to read about, or type in usernames directly to catch up with peoples blogs.

I've only found 3 leaf clovers.... but it was still sweet.... her name was sapphire and she was a dancer....
712825XweOL._UX569_.jpg

Crap maybe her name was emerald cuz she had green hair..... I don't know I think I had too much to drink so I don't remember!

Haha maybe four-leaf clovers aren't as rare as made out to be. Still, you should feel lucky!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13