The Wood of Love

in #art7 years ago (edited)

boisthumb.jpg

Bois d’Amour

Following the path along the river just a short walk from the centre of Pont-Aven in Brittany is the Bois d’Amour, the wood of love. This wood has been the inspiration for many artists including Gauguin, Sérusier and Émile Bernard.

boissign.jpg

The woods belong to the Manoir du Plessis, owned by the Villemarqué family. The area was frequented by the artists of Pont-Aven, as you walk along the river you can find tiled signs telling you about specific pieces of work.
chaussures.jpg

I walked across the wooden bridge at Moulin Neuf, mill nine. It was this area that Paul Gauguin painted in his picture ‘La Baignade au Moulin du Bois d’Amour’- 1886, oil on canvas.

signone.jpg

Views of Moulin Neuf

boiseau.jpg

millcat.jpg

‘The Talisman, the Aven in Bois d’Amour’

The artist Paul Sérusier painted ‘The Talisman, the Aven in Bois d’Amour’ in 1888. He was a pupil of Gauguin’s, and it was in the Bois d’Amor in the Autumn of 1888 that Gauguin gave Sérusier a painting lesson in which he stated the Synthetist principles.

artistinfo.jpg

Synthetism

Synthetism is a term used by post-Impressionist artists like Paul Gauguin, Émile Bernard and Louis Anquetin to distinguish their work from Impressionism...

Synthetist artists aimed to synthesize three features:
• The outward appearance of natural forms.
• The artist’s feelings about their subject.
• The purity of the aesthetic considerations of line, colour and form.

Source Wikipedia


bridgeview.jpg

woodsslope.jpg

My source of inspiration!

boiseau.jpg

I made my own little watercolour sketch of the Bois d'Amour.

boissketch.jpg

boispainting.jpg

Watercolours on paper

According to the artist Maurice Denis, Gauguin had told Séruzier : "How do you see these trees? They are yellow. So, put in yellow; this shadow, rather blue, paint it with pure ultramarine; these red leaves? Put in vermilion".
Stood in that same landscape I found that quote inspiring. Now the real question is what colour should I paint the trees?

Sort:  

Very nice article! Have you taken how long to do all this? Painting, photos, texts. The article is really good to present!

It's taken a fair bit of time to put together. It's past midnight here now :D

You have courage! I hope your work will pay :)

Your sketch of the Bois d'Amour is beautiful :) What a serene looking place.

I can see why it has inspired so many great artists with its beauty.

Very beautiful, tranquil place for inspiration, indeed! Great post;).

Thank you, i have a bit more to share abut this place, but I think that will be another day!

It's incredible how much you can find in the forest of love!
Couple of shacks, moulin neuf tablet, little hearts on the wall and even a cat!
And all you need to get there is flower pants and sneakers!

I dressed floral to blend in to the nature ;D

Oh my apologies.. I've lost in the woods of love and forgot that the actual topic of this article is your painting. Whoops my bad.
It's beautiful, i am glad that i passed by your blog today :d

What a beautiful place to spend the day, I will have to follow your lead and head into the woods now. well as soon as it stops raining anyway.
Enjoy the rest of your trip.

And in daylight... no drawing in the dark!

you chose the perfect colors for the image of the tree, with the other it would work so well!

Thank you, though i think I'll have a play soon with acrylics and change some of the colours of my trees.

@opheliafu my daughter is learning to draw three years already - walks to class. so the choice of colors for her most difficult, can work long look at what decided to draw and then start

Just having red, blue and yellow paint is a good start. That way they learnt to mix and experiment with colour.

Very nice. I want to try water colors. I like the transparency of it. I hear that its easier to work with than oil. I work with stone carvings and do a few drawings.

It's not as messy, but I prefer oils.

It like thers oasis haha

A mini island!

^ ^ Helloooo, Honey sugar <3:
Harry´s phone number: +1050555UUU0

wowwwwwwww
my mother also loves to paint art y using watercolors, I will surely show her this. She will be in love
Thanks for the share and upload. Have a wonderfull day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68236.23
ETH 2643.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70