The Wall

in #art7 years ago (edited)

thewallTH.png

Experiments

I started the day by creating a tiny ink drawing -'The Wall'. I've been experimenting more with drawing inks over the last few weeks, and recently I've been looking at the different ways to apply the inks, and the surface texture of the paper I'm drawing on.

graterpaper.jpg

For the latest series of drawings I have been manipulating the papers surface by scoring into it with, and roughing up the surface of the paper before applying water and inks. For this drawing I took the paper over a cheese grater to scuff up the paper surface. I then applied water with a brush and allowed this to penetrate the paper for a few minutes before soaking the end of the paper in drawing ink. I left the paper to stand for half an hour to soak up the ink, I then took a paint brush with ink over the surface.

8inkmarks.png

March181.jpg

inksplat.png

wallcloseup.jpg

Once the paper was dry I added the figure to the picture using a dip pen and drawing ink.

thewallboard.png

2inkmarks.jpg

The Wall

thewall.png

Drawing ink on paper.

Sometimes the hardest walls to get over are the ones we have built ourselves.

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Beautiful

When I read wall, the first thing that came to mind was Trump's wall. Glad to read it wasn't.

Even though it isn't about that, I did wonder if it would bring that to mind for some. Thank you for your comment @rajbeekie.

Interesting technique you applied here friend @opheliafu, I really liked the use of cheese scratcher as a tool to change the texture of your drawing paper. It gives a totally unique base. Beautiful finish. A subtle drawing that evokes many stinging thoughts and feelings.

I spent a lot of time experimenting with different papers that would take the amounts of water, paint and inks I wanted to apply without ripping when masking fluid is applied. I now seem to be on the other end of that thinking- i'm deliberately scoring the surface.

Congratulations friend, the process of experimentation usually gives you a wide range of possible outcomes, from which you will choose the one that is most appropriate for your art. Hugs @opheliafu.

Sometimes the hardest walls to get over are the ones we have built ourselves

So true. I told someone about cryptocurrency in 2016 and he called it ponzi and refused to make research.

This guy actually built a wall of ignorance for himself. He still has that mentality and that is because the wall is still present. The only time that wall will be brought down is when he decides to study

Removing a mental wall can be hard, sometimes it is a matter of tackling it a brick at a time.

That could take forever. Depending on how big the wall gets. Some people will buy 1 sat for $100 one day

undoubtedly the worst walls to overcome are those that we did not impose on them, a beautiful work represented a problematic that we suffer often from human beings.
thank you very much dear friend @opheliafu for sharing this beautiful representation

Thank you @jlufer, for taking the time to consider the meanings in this simple image.

WOW. It would never come to mind to change the paper. I liked your experimental work. I'm learning something from you. and I am very happy!
Thank you

Wow! It's a masterpiece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75