Silver Giants

in #art7 years ago

This is the second piece in a series inspired by the colours and markings on the bark of silver birch trees.

Inverted shadows

Walk the night

Fingers that touch the moon

Pulling down the light

Feasting on its pale fruit

INSPIRATION21-001.jpg

To get some ideas for the composition and colours of the piece I had a play with some of the photographs I had taken of trees.

INSPIRATION21-002.jpg

After experimenting with altering the colours of my photographs I chose hues of purple and blue for my painting. This piece is painted in watercolours using a range of techniques.

INSPIRATION20.jpg

The Outcomes

2017_02_191.jpg

shadow eaters.jpg

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

Wonderful art and gentle words. I really like it.

Thank you @sumsum, I'm happy you like this piece! 🌳

pulling down the light - I love that line. Great little poem and great interpretation of the trees into the final result!!

It's what comes to mind when I look up at the moon through the trees. Their branches are like fingers grabbing at the light.

They really are and that's what I will think everytime from now!

Beautiful work lady @opheliafu congratulations

I like this! I like how you altered the lighting/color in the photos to blue/purple. I can totally see you progression!

It's a great tool for experimenting with colour schemes!

Birches are such special trees. Thanks for showing how you got to those colors, too. It reminds me of the cold blues of late winter snows against the white birch bark on a full moon night. So pretty!

That's a very poetic comment! 😃

Inspired by your art! : )

Oh, my birch trees. It is so good @opheliafu :)

Are they bringing back memories?

Birch grove is special in my mind. Happiness came to me again thanks to your painting.

Beautiful as always :)

I appreciate your support 😊

Your welcome :)

So cool! Well done & fun! <3 :D

Really great abstract artwork.
I only emualted Cyanotypes with digital techniques but never did some myselfs.
Hmm.. maybe I should try to get some precoated papers and try it out...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85