Ready for December 1st!

in #art8 years ago

To add a little festive cheer in preparation for the start of the Christmas period I decided to make my own advent calendar.

I've spent the last week drawing a couple of Christmas themed images each day. Today, I have layered these against a background that I made using a graphics editor, and made some adjustments to the images.

The top layer of the calendar is made from one of my cyanotype images that I have scanned and then layered numbered boxes and white stars over the top.

I printed both the images on to one sheet of card and then cut them out. On my snowflake picture, the top layer of my calendar, I used a knife to cut open each window. I was careful to make sure I didn't cut up to the black line, but instead cut inside of this, leaving space around the edge.

Video: 27 seconds (fast motion)- cutting and sticking together.

Once the windows were cut out I lined up the two images, and checked the alignment of the pictures through the windows. I placed some tape on to hold the two images in position while I glued them together around the edges.

Feel free to print the images out and have a go yourself, or make your own design and share it in the comments section below!

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

great idea, your creativity amaze me so much!

That is very kind coming from such a great illustrator as yourself!

Love the calendar! It is a really nice idea!

Awesome work once again! I resteemed it.

I appreciate the resteem- just saw it on my feed!

Oh that's clever.. And lovely!

Are we going to have a meesterboom 24 days of cooking calendar?

I wish!! I can barely cope with one dish a week!!

I could probably come up with 24 Xmas themed recipes, though they might not all be originals. But I wouldn't have time to write the posts. Hopefully a few though, starting with my Xmas cake recipe in about 12 hours.

Do not stop surprising me @opheliafu lady beautiful idea, I value and congratulate her beautiful creativity, thank you very much for sharing

🎄I'm happy that you are surprised by todays post! Always something new to share!🎄

👼 Thank you👼

It looks really nice! Good job :)

🎄Thank you very much! 🎄

This is a wonderful idea!

Your cyanotype makes a perfect cover for this advent calendar, especially with a snowflake. Such a nice idea, too.

So nice! I never used an advent calendar, but this one is so pretty! Congratulations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54