Quill ink drawings

in #art8 years ago

I was taking a walk when I came across a pile of brown feathers. If I was to hazard a guess I would say they were duck feathers as there were a couple of brown ducks waddling around the field at the time. I decided to pick them up and take them home (the feathers not the ducks).

Once back in the warmth of my studio I decided to get to work shaping a couple of the feathers into quill pens. I fancied doing a bit of pen and ink drawing.

So time for some experimenting!

And a bit of colour!

The outcome

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Special thanks to @voronoi for help with my GIF presentation!

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @opheliafu. What a lovely idea and lovely results.

YES! The gifs! It adds such a revealing and dynamic layer to your work. Awesome!

Thank you for the inspiration with those!

Just lady @ opheliafu.

Why thank you!😀

Awesome work so creative :-) x

Thank you, I'm happy you liked it.

That's really cool actually, I don't think I would be able to draw a single line with a feather!

Give it a go, it produces some interesting lines.

I never tried feathers, I like the variations of lines you can make.

It takes a little while to get use to the unique qualities of each 'pen', but I think that adds to the charm of drawing with them.

I would never think of doing that, brill idea and looks fab :)

Upvoted by @foraging-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @foraging-trail
You can find out more about the Steemit Foraging community and guidelines for being upvoted by the @foraging-trail here and here.

Great work! Thanks for sharing your creative eye opheliafu!

Beautiful work all these Ivy drawings are really brightening my days.
As soon as I finish the paper I'm working on I'm going to treat myself to a drawing day.

You just need to find a duck to pluck ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70