Preoccupied with time

in #art7 years ago

stonethumb.jpg

Do you ever have days when you just can't keep up with your schedule, when it seems like time is flying by and you are moving at the speed of a snail?



The past couple of days I have had my eye constantly on the time, aware that there is a tight schedule and places to be. My head has been occupied with clock watching! At the same time it seemed as if I was moving at a slower pace than usual, the hours had flown by and I still had work to be done. Were my feet turning to stone or was I growing roots? Had life suddenly got a lot busier?

stonemed.jpg


I drew this picture to represent my frustration of chasing time, in the image the body is turning into stone and one side of the body has grown roots and sprouted branches, even a bird has nested in the tree. The body has become wrapped up in bindweed, the choking plant twining up the body represents the tasks needing to be done. Behind the figure on the horizon a city can be seen, a reminder of the hectic world. The figure has become so preoccupied with time that the head has turned into a clock, tick-tock!

September 172.jpg

I carried on drawing this picture when I was sat in a carpark waiting to pick up a friend. I had 5 minutes spare so I decided to use it wisely. I often carry my sketchbook with me when I go out, and if I'm a passenger in a car I may even take a small drawing board with me so that I can continue with drawings I started earlier on in the day.
stonepaint.gif

Once home I continued the drawing and used a damp paintbrush to blend the watercolour pencil before adding a watercolour background to the image. I finished off the picture with black drawing ink applied with a dip pen and more watercolor details.
September 173.jpg

'Preoccupied with Time' -2017

stoneset.jpg

Watercolours, watercolour pencil and drawing ink on paper

Steem on and if you find an extra hour in the day send it my way!

Sort:  

oooh love the drawing and I love the concept you've woven into it! Time seems to be going by faster and faster at the moment, I've been thinking about this a lot funnily enough!

Is it to do with not being in the present moment enough? Living in the past and the future with our concerns, deadlines and worries? Maybe...

I have certainly felt that the more I focus on being in the now, the more time seems to open up and I feel I have more of it.

Lovely post, thank you!

Maybe you are right- I feel more grounded when I take time out to observe and draw my surroundings, but the past week my list of jobs and commitments has interrupted that to some extent.

I hear you on that. I can imagine that drawing is incredibly grounding. Such a quiet and still observation - almost like a meditation. I can't draw at all, but I do love to photograph.

I guess when jobs and commitments start to pile in as they inevitably do now and then, we should just remember to take small time outs to reconnect with ourselves. This is definitely something I need to work on myself. I tend to just keep pushing and pushing when I'm busy rather than prioritising some needed stillness and quiet!

They say business is a mindset.... 😀 😃 😄 😁 😆 Not sure if it is true, I'm too busy thinking about it...

your art makes me feel so sad :( and very emotional at the same time. Looking forward to your future art works!

Oh no- quick scroll through my blog and find some happy work!

very very very nice art my friend 💙💙
good working and upvote plz 💙

Thank you @nomishiekh - glad it appealed to you!

I like it too

Yes time is the worst constraint. It forces you to wrap up things that you want to last more. It constantly threatens to end your enjoyment. We are slaves to time hecause of our modern way of living and it takes a hige effort to break free... and lots of luck!

You did a wonderful job of depicting the effects of time, it's a great painting. Keep it up!

At times trying to keep up with it all can feel a bit like a hamster running on wheel- you never really get anywhere!

They say you can do more than you think in a year and less than you think in a day. So we overestimate and underestimate our abilities based on the time period involved. 😀 😃 😄 😁 😆I hope you have a WONDERFUL day!!!

This is fantastic! I have been feeling frustrated with my focus on time lately. I actually did a post yesterday about staying in the now! It's easy to let time carry you away and take over. What a great illustration! I really like it. :)

I like your post today too- makes me reflect

Thank you! 😊

Yeah I agree. I think there are several layers of interpretation to this actually.

wow. awesome skill you got.

very interesting

Es hermoso, me hace sentir que el tiempo corre para la madre tierra, mientras ella está colapsada y sin salida

Her clock involves the changing of the seasons

Gracias por la explicación, se me dificulta el ingles, es un hermoso trabajo.

Sometimes I think artists don't even fully understand their own work, would you agree with me @opheliafu?

Man I need to learn Spanish.

wow very nice post your friends, i am very impressed with the moving picture, you are deserved to be praised @opheliafu

That is kind, thank you

I totally feel you, time is passing by so freaking fast, I can't keep up with it lately.
You are like one of my friends, she is always carrying a sketchbook with her too, so bad she didn't joined Steemit yet, I think you would love her :))

you need to persuade her to join!

I should do that. She's more into creating great art everyday :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70