Poppy in Blue

in #art6 years ago

poppyblueTH.jpg

Poppies

We are having a gorgeous summer in the UK at the moment, the sun is glorious! I'm taking most of my work outside with me, including my paints and computer. Why would I want to be indoors when I can be listening to the breeze dancing through the leaves of the trees, and watching the last of the beautiful yellow poppies sway gently in the sun?

poppyG.gif

May 201821.jpg

Painting in the garden

poppyboard.jpg

I've been creating a series of simple watercolor images that capture the delicate petals and leaves of the flowers in my garden at this time of year. I've been using a variety of techniques for this series including using the leaves and petals of the plants to print from. Even using the vibrant cyan blues for this painting there is still a feeling of tranquility formed by the soft outlines of the leaves and petals of the poppy.

'Poppy in Blue'

poppyblueM.jpg

lilac inkmarks.png

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Sunshine, poppies, breeze, fresh air and art!! Ahhhhhh!!!!! Gratefully with you in the process @opheliafu!

Oh, the English Summer, I wish I was there.

I too have been enjoying our weather until yesterday we had a hot day. We don't get too many here in the Summer, as we are close to the water, but when we have a muggy 90F day here I don't want to think what it must be like inland.

I LOVE yellow poppies. I just bought some new yellow poppies to add to my little border and was so excited when I found then as I have a huge wild beach poppy (can't remember the latin name) that I grow here and it is an amazing companion to it!

The Summer is a great time to create and how can we not be inspired by all the lovely nature! I always feel that once we hit July it just speeds by though. So good thing we are out there enjoying it!

I love the colour and movement of your piece, I can feel the warm breeze and the English sunshine.

I think I'm going to try and increase the variety of poppies I have in my garden for next year, once you buy the seeds they just self seed each year - so a pretty cheap investment. When I started planting my garden a few years ago I kept everything to a purple, silver and pink colour scheme, but the wild yellow poppies that seeded themselves in my garden have inspired me to introduce more colour.

Lovely painting

Stunning, as always; thank you.

I just see poppies are usually red, it is the source of opiate drugs containing strong alkaloid treatment such as morphine, I also like to love this flower, really like the look of the photos you share,, this is very interesting.. thanks @opheliafu

The red ones I don't have, but I have yellow (Welsh poppies) and purple.

I am captivated by the spread of bright red flowers. Flowers Provide a very nuanced form of communication. like poppies, can express emotions based on their color. I would like to take a closer look at your purple Poppy, if you wish... Thanks

very nice paintings, what is the brand of these paints? How long does it take to paint one picture?

Well it depends on the picture -10 minutes to 100 hours (approx) :D
Koh-I-Noor paints, they have vibrant inky colours.

@opheliafu
Got to say that you have an awesome art in your hands..
Nice piece of work.. keep it up.

ahhh! Painting :) this is love bdw and one thing for some this is a hobby and for some this is passion, talent and the joy the happiness came from painting :) is the best feeling in this world, i mean once painting is finished then it last forever, it shows the deep effort of creator, the love mixed in colors and and... ... thats it actually i cant explain what i feel for painting, it is just love!

Nice creative work!
Steem on :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29