Pick 'n' Mix

in #art7 years ago (edited)

pickandmixsml.jpg

What is your favourite sweet?

When I was a child the best thing about my walk home from school was the small newspaper shop that sold pick 'n' mix. The shop was packed to the rafters with odds and ends, magazines and comics, Space Invader crisps, Panda Pops and of course the pick 'n' mix. My favourites of this sweet selection were the chocolate white mice, even better if they had a pink strawberry center. I still occasionally eat them today, they taste awful, but are a pleasant reminder of this childhood treat.

Diversity in your pick 'n' mix is a great thing. Chocolate white mice may have been my favourite, but the walk home from school was made more interesting by my blind rummage in the bottom of a little white paper bag to pull out the next surprise. There were always possible unpleasant surprises too, what if that sweet cola bottle sweet turned out to be a sour one? Another good reason to have a choice, it's better to have one bad sweet than a whole bag full.

Fancy a sweet?

april 201712.jpg

'Pick 'n' Mix' 2017 mixed media. Water-based paint and collage on paper.

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

https://www.redbubble.com/people/opheliafu

https://www.zazzle.co.uk/opheliafu*

Sort:  

I particularly like this one. Dimensions? On the left.

They are just close-up's of the main image. The piece is 210 x 297 mm.

I loved pick n mix 🙂 Great illustration!

Do you have a secret stash of sweets?

Sweets don't last long in our household! 🙂

Beautiful and creative work lady @opheliafu congratulations

Thank you friend!

Beautiful work))) And my favorite dessert is the cake "Napoleon".)))


One of these? aka mille-feuille

I want to eat it))))

Rhubarb and Custards for me :) awesome work

Oohh yes, I do like that sweet and sharp combination.

OMG..ss you are awesome @opheliafu you got me inspired right now..! <3

Thanks-that's very kind :D

My favorite sweet was Chuppa-Chops.It a chocolatey lollipop.

I like the cola flavoured Chupa Chups.

Oh,you remember...😆😅

You can still buy them here in the UK.

they are in extinct now in Nigeria,except in some few selected international stores

😲 Oh no!

Very cool!

Thank you McPhobos :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66177.69
ETH 3483.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16