Mr Honey has the Steemit buzz!

in #art8 years ago

My latest skull is called Mr Honey, inspired by nature and the energy of a busy hive. I wonder how much energy goes into making Steemit buzz each day? A strong community that communicates and works together for growth.


GIF by @opheliafu

The process

After refining the initial pencil drawing I added an application of watercolour.

Once dry, I used coloured pencil and paint pen for toning and details.

The outcome

So Mr Honey is a mock up for a much larger piece I am planning. He's going to have a brother soon, a much bigger brother, approx 594 x 841 mm in size! I think this may take me a few days though!

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, creativity never ceases to surprise me. Such an awesome work. Great job :)

I really like this combination of nature and Mr. Calabera. Welcome Mr. Honey.
What I'm most passionate about is @ creativity.
Congratulations on another wonderful job

I am passionate about creativity too!

Looks like he has a strong chin, must be all the Honey he's been consuming

Someone has eaten all our honey, maybe it was Mr Honey?

Honey I shrunk the contents of the honey jar

🙄 That's enough of the jokes. off to buy coffee and honey.

if it will be a skull calendar, I would call him Mr. August :)

Not a bad idea, i must have at least 12 skulls by now!

Thanks for sharing your process of creating a 21st century work of memento mori art.

According to Wikipedia:

In art, mementos mori are artistic or symbolic reminders of mortality. In the European Christian art context, "the expression... developed with the growth of Christianity, which emphasized Heaven, Hell, and salvation of the soul in the afterlife."

Spot on with that description!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 24 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Love mr honey and his insect friends.
Such a fun feel to this one.

Thank you- I getting myself ready to paint the large version.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43