Moving mirrors in New York

in #art6 years ago

 moma.jpg

Visiting MoMA PS1 in New York

During my recent visit to New York I decided to go visit MoMA PS1 in Queens and see the exhibitions they had on show. One of the things I particular enjoyed on my visit there was exploring the outdoor installation, created as part of the the Young Architects Program.

The current outdoor installation on show was created by Jennifer Newsom and Tom Carruthers. Part of the brief is to design a temporary, outdoor installation that provides shade, seating, and water.

moma.jpg

Hide & Seek by Jennifer Newsom and Tom Carruthers of Dream The Combine

Seating

A large expanse of suspended netting provided seating, with two mirrors placed at each end. I lay down on the net for a while, and looked up through the canopy above to the sky.

New York.jpg

v2mirrordoor.gif

Shade

Large strips and angles of darkly coloured canopy provide shade, and cast interesting shadows against the concrete walls.

New York1.jpg

Water

At times sprays of mist filled the air, as if appearing by magic from above.

momaspray.gif

Movement

When I first arrived at the installation the mirrors appeared to move by themselves, they were also giggling! I then realised some children visiting the exhibition were moving the mirrors, running and jumping from each mirror to have a go at moving the large panels. I went behind one of the mirrors to see how it worked.

mirrormove.gif

mirrorlong.gif

You can find out more about the current programme of exhibitions on at The Museum of Modern Art and MoMA PS1 at www.moma.org

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Oh how great that must be! I would love to live that experience must be strange to walk from one side to another and see how everything moves and confuse you not knowing what is going on haha I hope you had a great :)

Thank you so much for letting us enjoy this amazing inspiration!

This seems an amazing exhibit and I love the brief: giving shade and coolness to summer city dwellers and tired holiday hoppers.

It looks like NYC was a fun trip. Are you filled with inspiration now?

Yes! I have lots of drawing to do - but first need to shake of the jet lag!

@opheliafu Art has no limits dear friend, there are talented people who can create art with almost anything, judging from the images this event is very fun to watch.
Thank you very much for the kindness of sharing these events
I wish you a great night

I enjoyed the kinetic aspect of this installation alongside the areas designs to sit, rests and take it in.

A very simple, yet striking exhibition. Hope you enjoyed New York!

Loved it - second time visiting but this time I mainly stayed in Brooklyn.

Really unfortunate I missed you at Doug Karr's workshop this past Saturday.

Yes, a shame! But at least you have seen the work :D

Indeed, they were really striking drawings! Although at first I thought they were Doug's! haha

This looks really interesting! I hope you had a great trip!

Oh yes- awesome. I have lots of photographs to work through as well as some cafe sketches I want to develop further :D

So glad to hear it! New York is such an incredible city, so much to see and so much to eat! 😊

Great post. Looks like you had a great time in NY.

Congratulations @opheliafu! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank's for your good post. I follow you, please follow me, sir. I'm totally new to Steemit. Hope you will follow me and help me get filled up by Upvoting. Thank you so much.

That was awesome. Very well done. Did you go to the Guggenheim?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62966.47
ETH 2631.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79