Memento Mori

in #art7 years ago

Forget-me-not skullthumb.jpg

Forget-me-not

My garden is full of these tiny blue forget-me-not flowers at the moment, any spare patch of soil has been filled with this wave of blue. You may also know forget-me-nots as being called myosotis, taken from the Latin myosōtis meaning mouse’s ear.

Floriography, the language of flowers, was used during the Victorian era to convey messages. In this form of floral coded communication the forget-me-not represented true love.

Forget-me-not skullsml.jpg

'Memento Mori' 2017- mixed media

A skull and forget-me-not design painted on book text using acrylic paints and water-based paints.

The process

Photographs may1722.jpg

Close-up details

May 2017.jpg

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  


Reminds me of a demi-lich.

Very cool. Is that a drawing of a Demilich from Dungeon and Dragons?

Yep that's right.

Raaar, loving the skills/skulls.

If I could avoid bonus points for shoe-ing in mouse's ear I would!! Urban dictionary that one!! :0D

My goodness I would never of put those two things together. I think the name in latin was to do with the shape of the petals.

Of course!! :0D

Another artist I know paints/draws in children's books (as her art journal) - she said that the paper used in children's books is usually thicker, so it holds up well. Interesting. Love this skull. And, I didn't know that myosotis also meant "mouse's ears". Interesting and cute. I'm now picturing mice with cute forget-me-nots circling their little heads.

I thought it would be too shiny- I will get hold of some old children books and give it a go, maybe coating it first.

I've been longing to see your skull work, this one is beautiful, congratulations lady @opheliafu, thank you very much for this beautiful gift

Ahh thank you, I'm back in the mood for drawing these, so there may be a few more over the next month.

Memento Mori... Remember that we die! The great old reflection on our morality. How such days are lost. Nice piece by the way.

I kept thinking should I put the Latin translation in my post, but then i didn't want to depress people.

I didn't realise skulls could be quite that adorable :)

A few flowers and they all look cute!

I soooo love this one!

Thanks! You might like the next one too...

"Floriography, the language of flowers, was used during the Victorian era to convey messages."

I just learned a new method of encryption, I will have to add that to my crypto series! lol

Great work!

I'm looking forward to seeing some floral messages to decode- how is your flower arranging?

Not good...I better go practice! lol

Ok ok I'm starting my garden lol love the skull she looks really pretty :)

Just plant some forget-me-nots- they self seed so you will never (be able to) get rid of them!

Do bees like them? Need to do more research

I haven't notice. The bees love my herb garden, especially rosemary flowers, thyme flowers and lavender.

I have lavender already, I might do a small herb garden too. Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56