Magic – a collaboration between Eric Vance Walton and Opheliafu

in #art8 years ago (edited)

When Eric Vance Walton asked me to collaborate with him, creating an image based on his poetry, I was elated. His poetry and writing is truly inspiring, so it wasn’t long before his words turned into images in my mind.

The first of Eric Vance Walton’s poems I have illustrated is ‘Magic’.

The words ‘an alchemy that takes place within the purity of our hearts’ made me think of swirling colours, the chemistry of two souls combining, swirling and mixing within a heart's ventricle.

The lines ‘where deep dreams and moonbeams collide’ conjured up images of ethereal light and galaxies colliding. I used wax resist to illustrate the moon beams cutting through the blue hues speckled with light.

To contrast the blue magic flowing through the arteries and chambers I used orange and reds for the flesh around the heart. I still wanted to create a sense of enchantment so I used a technique that I use to paint fairies. The red and orange watercolour paint was blown out of a tube across the page, allowing it to twist and turns as it created its own path.

The proceeds of this post will be split between @ericvancewalton and @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! Awesome! It took me a while to realise that, that was a heart, but that's my stupid brain at work! :D

That's ok! Most hearts don't have galaxies swirling inside :D

aww! But I wanna have galaxies swirling inside my heart! :( :D

Very cool! Have an amazing Monday.

Nice :))

💜 Thanks!

This is amazing @opheliafu

Thank you, and I appreciate your continued support!

looks like a Nebula. Heart nebula... Great work guys.

Thank you @skapaneas. That's a nice title 'Heart Nebula', maybe for the next piece!

Thank you for posting @opheliafu. Very expressive...evocative....inspiring.

Thank you, I had great material to work with! @ericvancewalton writes amazing poetry.

It really is magical!

⭐⭐ I hope you were enchanted by the words!⭐⭐

You have a wonderful aesthetic for poetry! I can feel the moonbeams and deep dreams colliding in the chambers of the heart :)

It is a beautiful visual that he creates through his words.

Indeed. I'd say that this collaboration between you two was a success

Looks great, I can see the heart straight away, love the colours too :)

💗💗 Thank you @karenb54 💗💗

What an amazing collaboration! I love how you incorporated the poem into a real heart with all its wonderful chambers. BRAVA!

Thank you, this was my third attempt at drawing it, I'm pretty happy with it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48