Lucky heather?

in #art7 years ago

heatherthumb.jpg

A purple blanket of colour

The spectacular sight of the heather sweeping across the landscape on a summer's day is the inspiration for this drawing.

I've walked across heather covered heathlands many times, but never really stopped to look carefully at these little purple plants. So, I took the time to sit down amongst the purple hues of the heather and really observe these tiny flowers.

heatherfield.jpg

heather photo.jpg

The Ericaceae are a family of flowering plants, commonly known as the heath or heather family, found most commonly in acid and infertile growing conditions. The family is large, with c. 4250 known species spread across 124 genera, making it the 14th most species-rich family of flowering plants. The many well-known and economically important members of the Ericaceae include the cranberry, blueberry, huckleberry, rhododendron (including azaleas), and various common heaths and heathers (Erica, Cassiope, Daboecia, and Calluna for example).
Source Wikipedia

heathersketch.jpg

I pulled my sketchbook out from my bag and made a pen sketch of the flowers. I found the leaf formation up the stem interesting, tiny spikes of green that I'd never really carefully observed before.

heatherprocess.jpg

I settled my drawing board and watercolour paints on the grass and began to add subtle layers of colour to my drawing.

heather paint.jpg

I don't think I'll ever look at that blanket of purple colour beneath my feet in the same way again!
heather.jpg

Have a great day!

opheliafulogo.png

Sort:  

That's really amazing, so beati flowers

This comment has received a 0.14 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Very cool buds on that plant, the way it forms a purple field is stunning

Another artist , I love nature and flowers and you have a talent of drawing it as well 😍

Ooohh! Painting en plein air... love it. The heather reminds me of some scenery I painted years & years ago for the musical Brigadoon. lol

Great painting of a beautiful flower
Image of dksartRegularSteemit

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $24.34 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Nature is the greatest inspiration an artist can receive, congratulations dear friend @ opheliafu for this beautiful work and the magnificent photos you have shared
Have a beautiful weekend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61