Little Houses

in #art7 years ago

pastelthumb.png

Resist the colour

I was demonstrating to a small group the watercolour resist technique of combining watercolours with oil pastel. I built up coloured lines on paper with the oil pastel before adding watercolours, the watercolours resist the areas of the paper where the oil pastel is.

pastelone.png

Later, as I was clearing away I took another look at the paper I had used in my demonstration, it seemed a shame to discard the brightly coloured picture. One of the shapes looked to me like a house, so using white acrylic paint I built up the lines of the shape and then added more small white houses to the picture.

paintingvone.gif

paintingthree.png

I fitted the little white houses into the space between the curved lines, it made me think of houses spread across a hillside hugging the curves of the landscape.

paintingtwo.png

I think what interests me most about this picture is that the starting point was free in movement- almost an act of automatic drawing. After this starting point a composition was planned to include the houses, and with this came a controlled placement of the houses. So the image comprises of carefully placed and painted shapes alongside loose and free mark making.

'Little Houses'

housesmed.png

Have a great day!

opheliafulogo.png

Sort:  

Good mixture of colors, keep it up

Perfect color combinations.

They match your avatar!

Thats why I like these colors 😉

please check my post about art

Excellent art

This contains the nostalgia of drawing with a crayon when we were kids. Great pieces

Yes! Exactly the same technique, the oil pastels are just softer.

It's a nice work @opheliafu. I like the colors

Thank you very much, this piece is very colourful!

i upvoted your post plz upvote me back !!

I really like this job, congratulations for the colors you have selected, beautiful work, my dear friend, @opheliafu
I wish you a beautiful week

Wow! I love the vibrant colours in this one. I'm not sure I have ever seen pastels combined with watercolour-- but it definitely works really well.

I have a few flower pieces using the technique, i'll have to dig out the posts.

That is awesome... I am just amazed how anyone can turn just about any thought, mistake, doodkes, etc to creat something beautiful!👍

Thank you, there is potential in most things, it's just using the imagination to see what it could become.

Impressive art..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61346.78
ETH 2637.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58