Leaves on the Breeze

in #art7 years ago

treethumb.jpg

Seeing a picture

It's fun to take random paint marks on paper and see what it can become. This is another one of my watercolour tester sheets that I have transformed into a new image. The paper combined two types of mark making, brush strokes and paint splatter, in a colour palette of greens, greys and blues. The angle of the paint splatter made me think of the leaves of a tree being blown away on a strong breeze, so I carefully painted in the trunk and branches of a tree. I curved the lines to depict the movement of the tree swaying in the wind.

September 17.jpg

The longer lines of colour at the forefront against the splash of blue made me think of long grasses growing around a pond. The scene that I started to build up in my mind was of a view I had seen earlier on in the week. A large tree was growing next to a mill pond, the autumn winds had been shaking off its leaves which were beginning to scatter across the floor like a technicolour rug across the grass. It's amazing how a few random marks on paper can build into something more!

'Leaves on the Breeze'

treebreeze.jpg

Koh-i-Noor watercolours on watercolour paper.


Sort:  

I frequently did this with my kids. We alternated drawing irregular lines and afterward giving the other make something a chance to out of them.

Your post is very good and I like it. Hopefully the next post is better than this. thank you for sharing. I like you like I always want to grow with you.

I often did this with my children. We took turns drawing random lines and then letting the other make something out of them.

It's a great tool for warming up the imagination!

These would make beautifall bookmarks 😊😍

My husband said the same thing- i think it's the paper size- automatically think bookmark!

A beautiful bookmark for the everyday pages of our life.
Nice painting!

Wonderful words!!

This post was very informative thank you for sharing
you have my upvote
Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!!
@mannyfig1956

Hello, my name is Nadine and I am new on steemit. Maybe you can check out my post as well and follow back. Thank you :-)
https://steemit.com/travel/@leo-tmp/elephant-nature-park-chiang-mai-my-travel-diary
I really like your post. Super interesting. Great!!!

nice painting..
great work
Cheers!

Good job!
RESTEEM!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62539.28
ETH 2437.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67