Illustrations for 'The Girl who Sings to Snails'

in #art7 years ago

snailthumb.jpg

Mr Snail, a wonky wheelbarrow and a creaky shed.

I've been busy drawing more illustrations for my short story 'The Girl who Sings to Snails', you can read the beginning of the story here.

I used drawing ink with a dip pen to draw the illustrations, and added colour using watercolours.

snailprog.jpg

brownsnail.jpg

Mr Snail, he has a very fine moustache!

wheelprogone.jpg

wheelprogpaint.jpg

A wheelbarrow full of snails. The best way to travel around the garden, if you are a snail.

wheelbarrow.jpg

'She wriggled the rusty bolt on the shed door, it reluctantly moved to the side after a little force. Inside was mom’s old wheelbarrow, it had a wonky wheel and squeaked like an angry mouse, it was perfect for the job! She pulled it out, toppling over a few stacked plant pots on the way. She pushed it to the centre of the lawn and carefully started to place the snails inside.'

From 'The Girl who Sings to Snails' by Ophelia Fu

shed.jpg

A creaky old shed.


Sort:  

I love the art style do much. It is so gorgeous. Have you thought about trying to make a children's book or story book of some kind with this type of art? You should you have the talent.

I fully support. As soon as I saw these pictures, I immediately thought they must be in a children's book.

I may at some point.

Hahah love this; so playful and cute! Do you plan to self publish?

When i have a few more stories written i may look into it.

This is so creative! I love your art, @opheliafu
It throws me back to good feelings from my childhood. I know that sounds weird but it's true! lol

That is very sweet!

Oh my god it's a french snail with his fine moustache, it can not be otherly, he is so smart l ^_^

Why yes, I should have put Monsieur Snail or Monsieur Escargot even!

excellent ! but he should slowly flee France then, for my compatriots would eat him you know... 😲😭

Hello @opheliafu

These are nice drawings, you are obviously multitalented.

Wheelbarrows are definately the best form of transport in garden if you are a snail.

In my younger years I kept a garden , but what i planted were mostly Vegetables and beans, I don't have time for that now, but it was an awesome experience.

Thanks for Sharing.

@ogochukwu

The snails have eaten all but one of my bean plants- i think they are a favourite of theirs!

In my days of snail rearing I found out that they love Paw Paw Leaves so I Cut some for them everyday.

@ogochukwu

hahaha your snail kinda looks like this
fancy_snail_by_smoshen-d52djsu.png
source

Hahaha yes- he needs a monocle!!

and a bow tie! haha

So cute and perfect!!!

Love your snails haha the wheelbarrow full is funny

This is so awesome and fun!!! I love the illustration with them all packed in that wheelbarrow 🤣 Freakin adorable! Great work, am def gonna keep an eye out for more of your posts!

Omg those are so beautiful. Nice work!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42