Heads up

in #art7 years ago (edited)

headTH.jpg

Gruesome history

I'm sharing with you one of my drawing board doodles that has a rather grizzly inspiration behind it, the boiled and tar dipped severed heads of traitors once displayed on pikes on the Old London Bridge. When I revisited this drawing this gruesome bit of old London's history came to mind.

IMG_20180219_103929.jpg

Built by 1209, the Old London Bridge spanned the River Thames carrying shops, houses, chapels and a palace, until its demolition after a replacement bridge was built in 1831.

From 1305 the decapitated heads of traitors were displayed on the Drawbridge Gate at the northern end of the Old London Bridge, then after 1577 the display of severed heads was moved to the Great Stone Gate at the Southwark end. The Keeper of the Heads curated this gruesome display of the severed heads of traitors. He would arrange the tar dipped and impaled heads, putting up the new heads and discarding of the old ones.

The picture below, by Claes Van Visscher, shows Old London Bridge in 1616. Above the Southwark gatehouse the heads of executed criminals can be seen mounted on spikes.


A detail taken from Panorama of London by Claes Van Visscher, 1616

On the south is a bridge of stone eight hundred feet in length, of wonderful work; it is supported upon twenty piers of square stone, sixty feet high and thirty broad, joined by arches of about twenty feet diameter. The whole is covered on each side with houses so disposed as to have the appearance of a continued street, not at all of a bridge. Upon this is built a tower, on whose top the heads of such as have been executed for high treason are placed on iron spikes: we counted above thirty.

From John Evelyn's Diary

William Wallace was the first person to have his head displayed on the bridge in 1305, other famous people to have their heads displayed on the pikes included Jack Cade, Thomas More, Bishop John Fisher, and Thomas Cromwell in 1540. The gruesome practice of sticking severed heads on pikes continued until 1660, though there were reports of heads still being on display at the bridge until 1770.

The process of my doodling

Feb1824.jpg

I have a stack of drawing boards sat next to my drawing desk, they provide a firm base for my paper when I'm drawing or painting, and it means I can easily move unfinished work. Out of the dozens of boards I have there are a few boards that are my favourites to use, they have been doodled on over the years and so provide a constantly developing source of inspiration for my artwork. Every now and then I skip the paper and draw straight onto the drawing board

Don't lose your head!

IMG_20180219_105659.jpg

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

I love the history lesson here. I knew William Wallace's head was on display but I did not know where. It's amazing where inspiration comes from.

https://undergroundscience.net/archaelogy/construction-workers-discover-skull-of-william-wallace/
A possible Wallace skull was found, not sure if it was verified.

I am loving your drawing board series, the colour of the board as background is so earthy and cool.
I wonder if today's 'heads on pikes' is facebook when someone goes outside of 'societal norms' their head is placed on display with an appropriate 'this is a bad guy because he did such and such' and instead of throwing stones people throw comments and dislikes :)

Nice one!

I'm going to pretend they are balloons, that is less gruesome 8-).

Looking at the little triangles under the neck you may be able to tell that my first thought was balloon heads, but then my mind wandered to more gruesome things.

To stay focused on this life it is vital not to lose your head.
The tablaeros turned out to be very useful finally dear friend @opheliafu.
thank you very much for sharing this story of your country
I wish you a good evening

Muy buena hermano....oye cuando vas hacer el concurso del raun 19 de dibujo lo estoy esperando con mucha ansia

I'm having a little break- should be launching a new one next week

ok...bueno esperare la otra semana con muchas ansias me gusta mucho participar en tus concursos gracias

Thank you for sharing this with us! I always enjoy learning new things. Even if it involves lifeless heads :)
Happy Friday to you⭐️

Well you've made a very nice piece from that barbaric process. I like how you've used bold lights and darks, while allowing the color of the wood background to show through.

Oh my God
interesting story you share with us

And now all the traitors in Parliament walk around as free men.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74