Green Sprite

in #art6 years ago

spritedTH.jpg

At the bottom of the garden

Down at the bottom of the garden, among the springtime growth, strange creatures are moving. Quietly sit and watch, don't move or they may flee. Tiny garden sprites are hiding in the sap green canopy.

May 20186.jpg

Drawing the sprite

I began by creating a series of marks across the paper by flicking black and red inks. I then left this to dry before starting the next stage of the drawing.

spriteinks.jpg

The image of the sprite was drawn onto the paper in pencil, then outlined using a dip pen and drawing ink.
May 20184.jpg

spriteinked.jpg

Water was applied over the surface of the paper, then layers of green and blue watercolour were added with a brush.
spritepaint.gif

For the next stage rock salt was applied to soak up some of the colour and create a speckled effect on the skin of the sprite.
May 20185.jpg

spritesboard.jpg

3inkmarks.png

'Green Sprite'

spritegreen.jpg

Ink and watercolours on paper

What is hiding at the bottom of your garden?

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

I love your drawing as usual, of course. But that green double hellebore! Oh, I want that variety in my garden.

I am so enamored of ferns and the fronds coming up are so magical.

Have you tried cross pollinating your hellebores to get some new varieties?
I'm hoping to expand on my fern collection this year and create more of a fernery.

I haven't done so yet, but was watching Carol Klein do it on an older Gardeners world and I really want to try. I have a few varieties and so does my MIL, so might try to get some new version. I want to try with day lilies as well.

I LOVE ferns. I just started some more Ostrich and Christmas ferns this Spring from bulbs inside. I am acclimating them to outside just starting last night, as they are doing really well. It was such a success that I am going to now try ordering more tubers of various varieties and starting them indoors in late Winter for Early Spring planting. What I love about the ostrich, besides how amazing tall they are, is that their heads are the variety used in restaurant/food for fiddlehead salads! I just made over two new beds at our front door for Hosta/hydrangea/ferns and am going to put some of my Hellebore in there.

I watched the same one ( love Gardeners World)- and Carol is on the TV right now in Life in a Cottage Garden with Carol Klein :D Do you have your bit of ribbon ready for marking which ones you've cross pollinated?! I think I may have left it to late, they don't look like they have much flowering time left in them.
I didn't know that they used fern in salads! I have to keep my hostas in pots away from the snails, but that is still a loosing battle!

Wow excellent your art.outstanding your art.carry on dear .Resteemit done.

I wondered where they were hiding.

This one has evolved to camouflage well with the fronds of ferns.

Una especie de extraterrestre muy interesante. Me gusta sus ojos exagerados pero muy bien ubicados. Saludos luz fermin.

Yes, some alien qualities to this- she is a fantasy creature. Thank you for your comment @luzfermin.

Give back to your followers, just by upvoting their comments.

Wow! You’re so talented. Love the salt technique👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 Have a great day!!!

Thanks @naturald- I like that technique too.

Wow!!! Just amazing and true talent, I wish I could do that! Thanks!.

Woow amazing picture very good .i like picture you.beautiful paint @muhammad32

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50