Going round in circles

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Well read

I woke up thinking about circles. It may have been the outline of the white sun shining through the bedroom curtains this morning, or the circular lip of my porcelain coffee cup. The fact is I've been going round in circles all morning.

I have a fascination with alternative uses for printed text and the handwritten word, this led me to experiment with cutting circles out of book text. After all I want my art to be well read. Do you know how hard it is to cut out perfect circles at 7 a.m. after only one cup of coffee? Really hard!


After cutting out the circular shapes from the book text I applied white acrylic paint, using the curved paper offcuts as a stencil. I then painted on black lettering over the white acrylic paint.

'...between the lines' 2017


Mixed media: book text collage, acrylic paint and water-based paint on paper

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

As you, I'm intrigued by alternative uses for printed text and the handwritten word and I ofetn use them in some art's experiment of mine. Well dne, @opheliafu ! ^_^

It is a great material to use! Thank you @silviabeneforti

I totally agree! ^_^

You're so creative. I need to learn to think outside the box more, and just to experiment creatively.

I think you are very creative with your photographic compositions.

Never tryed this, interesting idea:)

Just coat the book text paper if you are using inks so that it doesn't bleed.

Not sure I'we got the meaning right:(

Whenever I get stuck on a design I throw circles into the mix.

They work with everything!

upvote and rs for u

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64