Foxy purple

in #art7 years ago

foxboardthumb.jpg

Adding splashes of colour

I recently posted my ink drawing of a foxglove, it was a black and white drawing. In the comments section it was suggested that a bit of colour may be a nice addition. So, I returned to the original image and applied some layers of watercolour.

foxgloveset.jpg

I applied watercolours over the original ink drawing.

foxcollage.jpg

A combination of magenta, red and blue watercolours made up the colours of the petals. I used soft greens and purples for the leaves and stems.

clouds.jpg

The only grey cloud in the sky seemed to be hovering above my head. It started to rain last time I drew this foxglove, maybe painting foxgloves makes it rain! I increased my pace as a few rogue drops of rain started to hit the back of my neck.
foxgfinalcolsml.jpg

Voila!


opheliafulogo.png

Sort:  

Oh, wow. That looks absolutely beautiful with the watercolors applied! (It also looked pretty great in black and white :D)

Thank you, and... thank you! I'm happy you liked both!!

Absolutely no problem! Keep up the gorgeous works of art :) I'm 100 percent sure that I'm not the only one here who thinks your work is stunning!

You are amazing!!!! Exelent paint! Wow!!

Seeing the beauty you made everyday, Motivates me to try to do something similar!

@opheliafu - Wonderful ink sketch of the foxglove. It has been made even more spectacular with the dash of purple that you have added. I really like it that you share the pictures with steps in creating your artwork masterpiece . Very inspiring.

Thanks for sharing. Upvoted.

I request you to visit my latest blogs if you find time. Have posted couple of funny ones (my funny bone seems to be acting up these days 😎 ) about wildlife. Your comments will be very welcome. Thanks

Ah you're back with your art.
I love it.
I appreciate your work how you've done mixing 2 watercolors
Keep it up @opheliafu

I'm here most days! :D

That looks wonderful, @opheliafu.

And I have to agree: looks much better now that you've added color to your foxglove drawing!

You may want to check out the watercolor paintings of my good friend Yana, who I (gently) pushed to join Steemit. Her Steemit ID is @travelart. She only joined like a week ago, has only 3 posts. But she's a very talented artist, and I'm sure you'd like it!

To give you an idea, here is one of her works:

Sketching is almost everything. It is the painter's identity, his style, his conviction, and then color is just a gift to the drawing. Done well.

The picture looks attractive and seemed to give the impression of life on the paint color poured on his paper. Very interesting very nice @opheliafu follow me @yudisb07

wow beautiful sketch love it

Wow,I love this vivid color,great color contrast.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68500.64
ETH 3751.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65