Expressive Hydrangeas

in #art7 years ago

Capturing the blues

expressivehydrangea.jpg

I've spent most of the afternoon painting the beautiful blue hydrangeas at the french gîte we are currently staying at. Hydrangeas are a firm favourite of mine, I love the variety of colours that they come in and the colour combinations that you can get in a single plant.

Hydrangea (/haɪˈdreɪndʒiə/; common names hydrangea or hortensia) is a genus of 70–75 species of flowering plants native to southern and eastern Asia (China, Japan, Korea, the Himalayas, and Indonesia) and the Americas. By far the greatest species diversity is in eastern Asia, notably China, Japan, and Korea. Most are shrubs 1 to 3 meters tall, but some are small trees, and others lianas reaching up to 30 m (98 ft) by climbing up trees.
Source Wikipedia

For this piece I lay my watercolours out on the grass and sat underneath the hydrangea plants painting.

expressiveone.jpg

I wet the paper and allowed watercolours to bleed into each other. I then left this to dry before working over the top in white pen.

expressivetwo.jpg

expressivethree.jpg

I then built up layers of white, green, blue and light blue paint in expressive lines to suggest tone and movement.
expressivefour.jpg

'Expressive Hydrangeas' -2017

expressivefinal.jpg


Sort:  

I admire her power of creation, I really like this type of work of nature, congratulations lady @opheliafu, thank you very much for these beautiful works

Thank you for your lovely comment @jlufer! You are a great supporter of my work.

Wow, I really like your painting. Well done!
I'm Just getting started here on Steemit.
Looking forward to more from you

Well a warm welcome to Steemit @n-doorplants!

Oh man. This one is really beautiful. Those purples really make it glow, and I love your expressive line work! So awesome to find more artists on here!

Thank you so much!

Really love the vibrant color of these, looks like the one in the back of my mothers yard

Wonderful, i connect plants to places too.

Hydrangeas are my favorite as well- you have captured them beautifully!!!!

Well I'm glad you enjoyed my work, thank you!

Love it! Is kind of relaxing. Your work is splendid! I'm happy of following you. Thanks for sharing.

I've had people say my work is tranquil or relaxing, that's very nice to hear. Thank you @iaso!!

I have to agree with many here. From the 4th pic from the bottom to the second they just jump off the medium. Fantastic! Beautiful

Great- glad you liked them!

is that gouache over watercolor? it looks great! i like the energy.

Thanks @drawingablank, it water-based pigment paint.

That's a lovely painting, and I really like how you show the process AND the original version in nature that served as inspiration.

Thank you for that feedback on the format of the post, I will try to continue to do this. :D

Masterclass as always, bravo!

Haha, pleasure to share that class with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74