Emerging spring

in #art7 years ago (edited)

It is the time of year when new life is emerging. Grey branches are sprouting new green growth, gardens and hedgerows are ablaze with yellows and zesty greens.


I'm using charcoal, watercolours and acrylic paint for this picture. I think charcoal is a very fitting medium to use to capture the old dead wood of winter, this particular charcoal is willow charcoal made from burnt willow branches.
april 2017.jpg

I applied the watercolours, building up layers of colour and density. Once dry I applied the charcoal over the top, creating a simple line drawing before adding darker tones.
Final highlights were added with white and yellow acrylic paint that I applied thickly over the surface of the watercolour.

Hello springtime!

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

Beautiful work, the colours are amazing very summery :)

It will be that final shot of yellow acrylic.

It really sets it off :)

Your welcome 😆

Thank you, no I'm not selling this one.

so lovely artwork! I love to see how artists create their pieces, thanks for share ^_^

Thank you @silviabeneforti , it was a little example I made for an art workshop last weekend. I haven't worked in charcoal for a while so it was nice to get back into working with it.

Was it on paper? It looked nice.

Yes, on paper.

I resteem you with pleasure)

Fantastic, thank you very much.

amazing ART post...great work

Thank you @homeartpictures, I'm glad you enjoyed looking at my work and the process.

very much. It is always nice to see how art arises

Beautiful spring welcome @opheliafu lady, I loved this work congratulations

Kind words my friend, thank you.

That's smashing, a very fitting hello to springtime!

Ta very much! 🌻🌻🌻

Thank you @tali72

I'm enjoying the use of charcoal here. You really accurately capture the contrast of winter and a new, colorful, spritely spring! Thanks for sharing :)

There is plenty of inspiration outside for those colours!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49