Drone City

in #art7 years ago

As the city slept

The white blocks fell silent at night. Only the distant whirring of drones could be heard as the residents slept in their beds. The moon was cloaked by the choking smog. There was an unusual darkness, with only the light from the street lamps standing guard over the empty roads below.

dronecitymed.jpg

'Drone City' -2017

Made with watercolours, water-based paints and watercolour pencils on paper.

dronecollage.jpg

I started this dark cityscape a couple of days ago, it's only a small painting at 95 mm x 145 mm. It had been sat on my drawing desk patiently having lines and texture added to it a bit at a time between my work on other paintings. The final touches I added today though after I was inspired by a conversation with @ericvancewalton. I'm hoping to start work on a larger version over the next couple of weeks.

Sort:  

Beautiful @opheliafu!! Love this!
& @ericvancewalton's a super inspiring guy!

I have now begun to appreciate the beauty of small art.. This is beautiful.. what you can do in such a small space.. Though I will probably always love huge pieces more.. probably because I love portraits and portraits can't be done in such a small space? Well, an artist can do anything, quite true, I would really love to be enthralled by a small portrait.. Do have a look at my works on my blog, I would really appreciate it :)

I just read this after your first comment- glad you are won over to small paintings- i like to paint big too though :D

yep, there's that freedom you get with big ones if you like to be loose. You can't do that with small ones, they require attention :)

wonderfulll!!!

You are a great painter.

Nice painting. What impact the size has on duration of the project. Lets say if it was x5 times bigger?

Not a huge difference to be honest- I used to work big, usually no smaller than 594 x 841 mm but often as big as I could make the frames for my canvases. I've actually gone smaller for my daily blogging as it is easier to scan and photograph smaller pieces - I still work large scale for commissions.

I was even thinking that doing a smaller scale is actually more difficult as you need to be more precise with hand movements. Small also looks cute, the bigger does not always mean better. Great painting regardless the size. Joy to follow your work.

Wow, must admit I don't understand much of art.
But your words threw light and clarity.
Thank you!

Sometimes a little story to go with the work helps, other times it's better to let the imagination of the viewer tell the story. Today I felt like being the storyteller!

Nice textures, I like the upper right image in your collage a lot. For me, it's a completely sufficient image.

Mmmmm that is my favourite too and something i think i'll be definitely carrying over to new work. In reality that section on the painting is only approx 3 x 3 cm, so I'll have a bit of work to do to get the same technique working on a larger scale but with a bit of experimentation i'll get there.

I'm sure you will :-)

Exquisite work of art! Very nice!

Thank you, I was trying out some ideas for a larger scale piece -i think i'll be carrying the colour and textures over to the new piece as they have worked nicely.

Thank you @ murdanialthaf

equally, best regards

Oh, beautiful, Ophelia. I also dabble with the media you mentioned. I especially love the speck of red in the painting. My father always used to believe that a painting has to have at least a tiny hint of red somewhere, otherwise it is just not vibrant enough. I now see what he meant. Brilliant contrast!

Yes it is a powerful colour in any quantity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59149.53
ETH 2749.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29