Drawing for Dwelling -VLVT Mix

in #art6 years ago

velvetTH.png

Taped up

Today, I'm showing you the process of how I created an illustration for Chapter Nine of Doug Karr's fantastic novel Dwelling.

The Velvet Underground's "I'm Sticking With You" kicked off in his earbuds. Those childish pitched vocals were almost sinister, and that grimy tape-deck quality sound mesmerized.

@dougkarr's novel Dwelling -Chapter 9

6inkmarks.png

The process of creating a drawing for Chapter 9 of Dwelling

After sketching the image out in pencil areas were masked off with tape, before applying layers of inks, building up mid to dark tones.

March1827.jpg

3inkmarks.png

tape.gif

inksplat.png

The masking tape was then removed and the lines and details were applied with a dip pen and drawing ink.
March1828.jpg

And if some fool ever dared jack his player and claimed Rube's listening choices weren’t legit, he'd puncture their eardrums with a screwdriver. He flicked the Velvet track to loop.

@dougkarr's novel Dwelling -Chapter 9

velvetboard.png

1inkmarks.png

My playlist

While creating this piece I listened to tracks from The Velvet Underground, The Stooges and The Specials.

playlist.png

"Ohwoahhhh, I'm sticking with you. Ohwoahhh, I'm sticking with you. Ohwoahhhhh..."

The words reverberated his eardrums, robust and clear, vying for attention in Rube's cortex…

@dougkarr's novel Dwelling -Chapter 9


VLVT Mix -ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

You can read the 9th chapter of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling now!


Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

I discovered Dwelling a few days ago and have thoroughly enjoyed catching up. ive also been really enjoying your accompanying artwork :)

Excited to hear chapter 9 is out! Can't wait to read it

The novel is great, glad you are enjoying it too.

This is really awesome @opheliafu. I would use a t-shirt with this artwork :) At first I thought you had use a photo and then I saw that you did the whole thing, super cool!

I'm not averse to using collage, but yes this is an ink drawing -glad you liked it :D

I LOVE this one so much. When I first saw it, I was like wait, is that mixed medium? It looked so much like a photograph. And fantastic listening choices while working on it!!

Occasionally I like to throw in a PoS (proof of skill) into my work ;D
My next 'Dwelling post' will have a playlist on it too.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Thank you artzone!

wow! It's like a 3D drawing! it looks very real.
I loved this drawing. I am happy to see the stages of drawing. I learn a lot from you. thank you my dear friend.

the masking technique that you use is really amazing, you are doing very beautiful works, congratulations for another magnificent work
I wish you a beautiful week dear friend @opheliafu

Thank you so much @jlufer

This is a creative work done. I love the drawings and most especially the fonts of those texts. Thumbs up

that great idea. I never tried to draw with ink. I will try it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80