Drawing for Dwelling -Taco

in #art6 years ago

tacoTH.jpg

All this drawing is making me hungry

Today, I'm showing you the process of how I created 'Taco', an illustration for Chapter Thirteen of Doug Karr's amazing novel Dwelling.

Dorian shoved down another taco al pastor into the angry hole above his chin.

Eventually everyone got blatto enough on habanero cocktails that Dorian could finally give up faking a smile.

Chapter Thirteen of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

tacostirM.gif

The process of creating 'Taco'

First, I had to research what a taco al pastor was! I found out it is a pineapple and pork taco, popular in Mexico.

March1836.jpg

The image of the taco was sketched out in pencil, then black lines were added using a dip pen and drawing ink. The paper was scraped into to create texture in the background areas before layers of ink and water were added with a brush.

messydesk.png

My messy tools after drawing

tacoboard.png

Dorian found himself even more repulsed sitting at the long wooden table of Barrio Chino that night, surrounded by a little Tinder biscuit of a model and her posse of designers, finance racketeers, indie-rock-waiters, restaurateurs, and furniture-crafting-leather-working-steam-punkers-who-not-so-occasionally-worked-as-bar-backs. He dutifully posed as the phones flashed, cataloguing the non-event for all of digital eternity.

Chapter Thirteen of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

'Taco'


Ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

You can read the 13th chapter of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling now!


Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

I like the approaches you take to create final drawings. Great work!


I will upvote and resteem your last blog post free to my 35,000+ followers if you reply with the word, "free". Blog posts over 7 days old can not be upvoted or resteemed. a-0-0

an excellent creation opheliafu, I recommend you eat a taco some day, they are very rich

I don't eat meat, but I'd have a veggie taco :D

if there is taco vegetarian, dare to eat it hahahaha

Ha! That is brilliant @opheliafu! Love the fact that you did it in all ink!! 👌

Thanks @jaynie, yes I have created all the Dwelling series images in black inks.

Well I think its FAB! Going to go take a look at your link now.

This post has been upvoted by @steem-ambassador.

The #promo-steem mission is to support high quality promotional and educational posts which raise the profile and value of STEEM.

For full details of the programme, please visit https://promo-steem.com

Awesome- thank you

Very beautiful, you have worked very hard!

That pull quote is one I'm the ones I'm most proud of in the entire novel and your awesome taco, the perfect compliment. Is that a glass of tequila I see behind it? Cheers, to your magnificent Dwelling artwork!!

My art
![FB_IMG_1522318417935.jpg](

hmmm..!
never knew taco also looked good in black and white

wow amazing. absolutely great job. I love that it was black and white. you are a great artist

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80