Drawing for Dwelling -Smoke it!

in #art6 years ago

smokeboardTH.png

In a haze of smoke

Today, I'm showing you the process of how I created an illustration for Chapter Ten of Doug Karr's fantastic novel Dwelling.

"Hey, can I buy a cigarette off you guys?"

The yuppie was trying for casual but only managing mild abrasiveness. Dorian greeted the stiff's handful of change with a huge phony grin, then took a slow, satisfying drag.

@dougkarr's novel Dwelling -Chapter 10

6inkmarks.png

The process of creating a drawing for Chapter 10 of Dwelling

After sketching the image out in pencil areas were masked off with tape, before applying layers of inks, building up mid to dark tones.

March1830.jpg

3inkmarks.png

smokeink.gif

March1831.jpg

inksplat.png

The masking tape was then removed and the lines and details were applied with a dip pen and drawing ink. Ink was splattered and sprayed onto the paper using an old toothbrush.
smokeboard.png

1inkmarks.png

My playlist

While creating this piece I listened to tracks from the Arctic Monkeys, The Specials and the White Stripes.

playlisttwo.png

"Let me ask you something, friend," Dorian said, "If you walked out your front door every Friday night and found droves of guys dressed just like me crowding your picket fence, or picking fights with your doorman, would you sell me a cigarette?"

@dougkarr's novel Dwelling -Chapter 10


Smoke it! -ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

You can read the 10th chapter of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling now!


Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

The final sketch looks brilliant , I miss painting very very much!

Pick up a brush :D

Cool drawing! Thanks for that!

Hello @opheliafu, I just wanted to go to see, I admire the artists. The drawings are very good. Thanks for the post. regards

Love the process gif. Very cool drawing.

It's looking pretty awesome. Glad to see you're illustrating a novel. If you remember, I did a few posts about a novel I worked on last year. Sadly, mine never came out. Got paid for it and made some steem at least :P

Shame that didn't come out. I've been putting a lot if time into this project over the past month, and I'm enjoying doing it.

It really helps when you have a good story to illustrate. I will have to read it all :)

muy excelente trabajo opheliafu es muy inspirador eh recreativo eres una de las eres una inspiracion para crear nuevos artes quierelo

I love the Arctic Monkeys! I remember when Alex had shaggy hair and had a cute nerd boy look and then they traded that look for a greaser image, love it.

I’m also itching to paint with ink after seeing these progress shots. The finished work looks awesome and I really like the fingers. Drawing fingernails are a hit or miss for me.

Yes, give it a go- inks are great for tonal work.

Seni yang cantik.

love the process of this one and it's not what I thought it would be. I really like seeing it come to life with just the right feeling for the writing, nice work @opheliafu!

oh and such a great idea to share your playlist....really sets the mood for us to tune into your experience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65